Sumo Sumo Sumo


Advertisement
Asia
April 8th 2010
Published: April 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I know it's been a while since I updated - SORRY! Not much of anything was going on until this past weekend so there'll be a bunch of updates coming your way very soon.

This past Sunday (Apr 4) Japan's best sumo wrestlers made their yearly trip to Ise Grand Shrine (Naiku) to say prayers for the coming year. Being the fan of sumo that I am, of course I had to go too. This meant getting up ridiculously early and taking an 8:15 train to Kuwana and then catching the express down to Iseshi. It took an hour and a half and ¥ 1100 to get there but it was so worth it. Once I arrived I caught a city bus that took me right to the shrine. The shrine was crowded with people - just insane! Everyone was lined up along the bridge and the path to take pictures of the sumo wrestlers as they walked by. I staked out a good spot along their return route and got ready. The procession started promptly at 11:00 (very Japanese of them) and the crowd got real quiet. Then everyone went crazy taking pictures. I had old men shoving me out of the way, people putting their keitais in front of my face... but I still got my shots. The little old ladies in front of me were cheering "good luck" and "thank you" to the wrestlers as they walked by. They are so respected here. They might as well be royalty.

The procession/prayer session was actually really brief. I'd say the whole thing was done by 11:30. After that the sumos headed over to the ring and the crowd sort of dissipated. Many people walked in the direction of the actual shrine to say prayers. It was my first time at Ise shrine so I took my time walking around and exploring. You would not believe how big the cedar trees were. Just MASSIVE! It would take three or four adults holding hands to make a circle around most of them. I saw a lot of people touching the trees for good luck or praying to them. A good chunk of them had bamboo wrapped around the lower part of the trunk to protect them I guess. She shrine was pretty enough and on my way back I took some cool shots of wild chickens and roosters they had roaming around.

The sumo matches were being held across the street and a little ways down the road. Considering how much tickets cost to see a regular match, going to a nice GA seating outdoor one for only ¥3900 was a steal! By the time I got there the fights had already started so I sat down with my picnic lunch and enjoyed the matches. After the first round was over I decided to explore and see if I couldn't meet any of the wrestlers. I managed to get pictures of some of the bigger names and even the lesser known guys were happy to pose for a shot. None of them smiled though hahahaha! Maybe they're just putting on their serious fighting face?

I also had a typical me embarrassing moment. There was one wrestler who's pretty good and I wanted to get a picture of him so I asked and he said okay. I started backing up to fit him in the shot and tripped over the only pylon in the entire place. Right on my ass. In front of the famous sumo wrestler. Definitely my crowning moment. I still got a picture though because he was kind enough to wait for me to pick myself up hahahaha Oh man... It could only happen to me.

It's actually surprising how popular the sumo wrestlers' kids are too. A couple of them had their wives and new babies there and the media was going crazy for them! I happened to be standing near one when the wife laid him out on a table to wrap a blanket around him. The media came right over with their camera crews and were asking her questions and taking pictures. I asked if it was okay if I took a picture too and she said it was no problem. He was really cute!

I eventually made my way back to watch some more matches before calling it a day and taking the 1.5 long train ride home. I was so tired by the time I got back I could hardly keep my eyes open! Who knew watching Sumo could be so exhausting? hahaha

Next up I'll tell you about my trip to Kyoto. Pictures will be added later tonight.

XOXO


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Sumo ApprenticeSumo Apprentice
Sumo Apprentice

It was this guy's job to have the sumo's yukata read for him to wear when he got out of the ring.
Kyokutenhō Masaru Kyokutenhō Masaru
Kyokutenhō Masaru

These guys are waiting patiently for their fights to start. Pretty sure that's Kyokutenhō Masaru of Mongolia in the red.
GagamaruGagamaru
Gagamaru

(That's his fighting name)
Aran Hakutora Aran Hakutora
Aran Hakutora

Aran Hakutora of Russia
Baruto KaitoBaruto Kaito
Baruto Kaito

Baruto Kaito of Estonia. He looked like the nicest sumo wrestler to me. He was always smiling and just has this really kind look about him. Brings a whole new meaning to the term - big, friendly, giant.


12th April 2010

nice photos
I'm glad you are having wonderful time in Japan !
12th April 2010

Thank you! Your lessons helped me immensely once I got here. Survival Japanese indeed! I don't know what I would have done without them. Hope all is well back home in Canada :)

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb