Asia Tour, Leg 6 Day 13


Advertisement
Asia
March 30th 2010
Published: March 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I won’t be able to upload any photo's of the next few blogs until I get to Thailand as there isn't any wifi to use my laptop.

Today I arrived in Danang and felt surprisingly refreshed as I decided to call it an early night last night. I'd spent the evening with an Australian guy and a Danish guy but the company wasn't as good as previous nights so I was quite happy to call it an early one (although watching a fire breathing 8 year old perform on the streets was interesting).

My flight to Danang took about 60 mins, this was the first place I'd arrive without pre-booked accommodation. I ordered a taxi to the place I had in mind, it's not difficult to find as unfortunately all property along the famous China Beach (the R&R point for American GI's) has been swallowed up by the fat cats who build their huge lifeless resorts of which I expect they have never visited.

The accommodation is I expected very basic (the sleeping bag liner is to be used on these beds), I didn't bargain for seeing cockroaches running around the bathroom. Luckily there were only 2, one got into the bedroom and then ran back into the bathroom so I sealed the door with a towel and got in to my sleeping bag liner to sleep.

What makes this place is the folks who travel here. Within 30 minutes of arriving I was invited to the cinema, so I went along. The group consisted of a Scot, a Lebanese, an Australian and 2 Americans. We went to the market to eat; I had a Vietnamese dish which consisted of raw seafood and semi raw meat mixed with noodles and smothered in Chili’s. The Lebanese guy warned me that western bellies aren't prepared for this, but so far so good.

We watched the movie (the movie was in English) and then came back to the guesthouse to eat. Hoa (the owner) organises massive family meals for all the guests, one thing you can be sure of in Vietnam is a good meal (I bet you don’t agree with this after the raw stuff). I ate with a Canadian couple who had some really interesting stories of their travels. Afterwards I sat on a table with some Germans who were really friendly and we drank the place dry of beer. We all had a right laugh, I used some of my limited German repertoire to speak to them but fortunately they spoke very good English and they taught me some German swear words so a good night was had by all


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb