Saigon


Advertisement
Asia
March 17th 2010
Published: March 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After having slept on the train for almost 2 straight days we were keen to walk around and get some fresh air. We left the hotel at 8ish, We walked to the Notre Dame Cathedrale only to find we had missed the morning opening because we had stopped for a coffee break. So we decided to go to the revolutionary museum, after that we walked around and looked for somewhere to book a bus ticket to Phnom Penh, with no luck we found a big shopping mall and shopped for a while, its funny how you can go into a shop knowing exactly what you want to buy and come out with the complete opposite. Although saying that i did buy some flip flops and a jumper, i needed both these things because my flip flops broke and it was cold in hanoi and halong bay and i only brought one jumper with me. Anyway after our shopping trip we went back to the cathedrale which was open in the afternoon between 3 and 4. On the way back we found a little travel agents where we bought a bus ticket for the next day to Cambodia.

We had planned to go to the cinema that night, hannah really wanted to see Alice in Wonderland however we thought that we had already spent too much money that day so just walked around that evening and got soo lost. I thought if we got in a taxi it would be ok and we would get to where we wanted to go without too much stress. It didnt go as smoothly as i had thought, firstly the taxi driver didnt know where we were going so we ended up even further away from where we wanted to be. He stopped for directions and ignored us when we said that we just wanted to go back to where we were staying. At long last we got to where we wanted to be, even though 5 minutes earlier we had said we didnt want to go there anymore. The taxi driver was just as fed up with us and we were with him. We were both glad when we found somewhere to eat. After dinner we walked back successfully and stopped to have a quick look at the night market.

Oh I have just remembered i made a friend in our hotel... We had given in our clothes to be washed and they said it wouldnt be ready for 24 hours, I was trying to explain to the person on reception that we would be leaving early the next morning so we needed our clothers sooner. Unfortunatly for me the man didnt understand a word i was saying, until these 2 ladies and a man came in. One of the ladies said hello to me then started talking to the receptionist, so i asked her to explain my problem. She was very kind and 10 minutes later I was presented a big pile of clean clothes! Later that evening I saw them again, she was very excited to see me and find out whether i had got my washing, she asked me if I would like to go clubbing with her but I said no thank you because we had to get up early the next morning and I hadnt slept for almost 24hours.

The next day we got up, ate and went to the travel agents to get the bus. The lady who we had booked the tickets with was talking saying that the bus couldnt stop on that side of the road but someone would come and pick us up and take us to the bus. A few minutes later she called us to go outside where we saw two men on motorbikes waiting for us. I was suprised when she gave us a helmet because the first time I went on a bike in Chiang Mai I asked for a helmet and the man just laughed at me! Anyway we got to the bus safely and off we went.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb