Varanasi


Advertisement
Asia
March 12th 2010
Published: March 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Very full days. Lots of experiences. Here are some of them. This has been a great trip.
Last night after dinner in a large open air hotel courtyard, six of us piled in to a tiny auto rickshaw, including Bob hanging on th back, for a ride back to our hotel. We must have looked quite a site!
Tomorrow we have a 10 hr bus ride to Lumbini, Nepal ... the birthplace of Buddha. Then a 3 day jungle safari. I doubt if I will have internet there.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

our guide Manieour guide Manie
our guide Manie

He has degree in History, speaks Japanese, French, English and Hindi and has 15 years experience as a tour guide in India. Very knowledgeable and helpful.
Aarti Puja at Varanasi ghatAarti Puja at Varanasi ghat
Aarti Puja at Varanasi ghat

This was very moving!
more pujamore puja
more puja

Puja took about 1 hour and was performed by 7 Hindu priests, one from each of the seven major Hindu centers in India. The perform this every evening.
cremation ghatcremation ghat
cremation ghat

This is as close as pictures were allowed. We did walk through this ghat. It was a very touching experience. Six cremations were being conducted simultaneously. This goes on 24 hrs/day. I walked within 2 ft of a burning body and felt as if I might be intruding in the families space. I bowed in respect. An older family member asked me where I was from. When I said "US" he smiled and said Thank You.
our boat for afternoon Ganges boat tripour boat for afternoon Ganges boat trip
our boat for afternoon Ganges boat trip

We took a 3.5 hour boat trip (about 30 miles) from a villiage downstream of Varanis to Varanasi. Perfect weather. It as a delight being on the water. We stopped half way at a small village and had tea.
boat tripboat trip
boat trip

I dangled my feet in the Ganges for much of the trip. Very refreshing.
Varanasi ghatsVaranasi ghats
Varanasi ghats

Hundreds of ghats on the banks of the Ganges


14th March 2010

Fantastic
Wow, You must be having the time of your life. I guess after all the shots that you have had, sticking your feet in the ghanges can't touch you. I was moved by your experience of the ghats and the family you encountered. Maybe I will have you sprinkle my ashes there? I expect that you won't be communicating while on safari. Enjoy it all... wishing you lots of bliss. John Douglas will be coming sometime in April or May. Thought you would like to know. I am going to see Ross on Tuesday. Oh and since you probably will not be communicating here on your special day...HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY. My computer is acting weird for the last couple days but somehow I was able to get onto your blog. Hmmm.... Well anyway...Bliss to you. Namaste and Jai Guru Dev
14th March 2010

Hi John, You are taking in so much! Is India different than you imagined it would be? We are enjoying your blog and hopefully I can get dad on tomorrow. The pixs are really beautiful. Have fun in the jungles--watch out for those pythons on the roads... Julie

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb