Day 11


Advertisement
Asia
February 21st 2010
Published: February 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

HI!!!

Im in an internet cafe in Ulaan Baatar now in Mongolia. It is all pretty strange here as we haven't come that far but everything has changed since Russia.

It's been hard to update this blog as we are constantly on the train and then our days off are packed with doing things.

Our Honcho in Irkutsk/Lake Baikal was a bit of an idiot as he was really disorganised, kept lying about really stupid stuff and was very very sexist. All the girls in our group by the end had had enough. Anyway, Ted is long gone now and our new Mongolian Honcho is lovely.

The train is pretty cool although it doesn't go as fast as you would think. That is probably because the ice and snow surrounding the tracks is so bad that it can't. We had a nice carriage attendant called Val who put up with all our nonsense. There were four bunks in each room and it was a little cosy but OK. I shared with Donna, Rob and Simon. The only annoying thing is trying to keep clean, especially when they provide you with super strange taps which the only way to work them is to push them up and then the water sprays out of the bit you are pushing up. Not ideal to say the least.

We were allowed to get off the train at the longer 30 minute stops which was good for restocking water and snacks.

One night we had a fancy dress party in honour of the Danish girl on the tour as it was a festival day in Demark. I got creative with the bed sheets and created a togo. She then made us all go outside at one stop in -13 wearing our costumes... it was a bit nippy.

Anyway, once we got to Irkutsk we were driven off to Lake Baikal (about an hour away) and we were staying in a really cute log cabin! It was amazing. As there are 15 of us on tour I was the odd one out which was brilliant as I got a twin room ensuite all to myself.

We then went down onto the lake and I have never seen anything so amazing in my life. You will have to wait to see the pictures because it is very hard to describe. We then when on a massive walk (another Ted lie about how long it would take) up to a really cool viewing point with a ski lift etc. Had a warming vodka at the top then made our long way back and had dinner in one of the few places open in the winter.

Next day was a bit of a disaster because of Ted and we wasted hours watching other people do the huski driving, after taking us on another massive hike. I also had issues with the shower (not good). All ended well in a bar with a group of Russians wanting to share their happiness (booze) with us. It ended up with some crazy dancing from the Russian ladies and a good old sing song with a guitar.

Next day we went back to Irkutsk which is where I wrote the last blog to you quickly. Irkutsk is OK and saw quite a few cool things. Had dinner is a well dodgy weird place but we had sort of come to expect that from Ted.

Got back on the train and had to remember about the fact that was running on Moscow time. I shared a cabin with Tam, Anna and Simon this time. I didn't like it as much as the other train and the border crossing was a nightmare. We had to sort out our Visa stuff with the Russian side (whilst sat doing nothing with the toilet locked) and then sit for hours on the Mongolian side. All in all it took about 8 hours or so and it was quite scary as all the officials are very stern. Mongolian police asked me if I had cut my own passport as it was a bit rough round the edges but let me in anyway (phew).

I then got scammed by a currency person when changing my dollars, bit annoying but not the end of the world. All sorted now but still finding Mongolian currency very confusing as they only use notes and it is 2000 togrog to the pound so we are usually dealing with lots of noughts and twenty thousand togrog notes!!!

Went hiking up to see the view of the city after visiting a monastry this morning. It is quite an impressive place but full of pickpockets... i'm on my gaurd the whole time even in holy places. Then had lunch after wondering arond the city. I tried horse meat and it was actually really nice. Bit worried about the Ger Camp food though as it is all very "meat off the bone stuff".

Just come back from seeing a traditional Mongolian dance and music performance. Really good and some of the weird singing in incredible.

Tried uploading photos but it isn't really working so will have to wait till Beijing I think.

I am off into the countryside tomorrow so will be out of range for two days again.

Love you all x x x x

PS only -13 so suprisingly warm!!!





Advertisement



23rd February 2010

Good Luck!
I got really dazzled after reading this; is unusual to see a young and beautiful woman go hiking and discovering a wild land nowadays. I'm anxious to read more and see the photos! Good luck and keep up!
25th February 2010

What an adventure you are having. I shall look forward to when you can upload photo's, my imagination is quite good, but I cannot quite workout how you have room to do so much on the train, especially as you are a lanky beast like myself!!!! The dog sledging sounded good fun, well done for not colliding with anything. Did you join in with the Mongolian dancing? I imagine it to be quite fast and exciting, involving long pigtails and swords. The food is good though eh! John and I had a terrific time in St Lucia, I have to say we were rather warmer than you 93 degree's in the shade!!! But you are warmer at -13 than Simon as it has been -20 in Krakow. ( Ben and I travel out on Thursday next week for 5 days, Yip!!). Back to St. Lucia it is beautiful, I loved the culture, the scenery, the people, the flora a fauna, amazing. We went jungle biking, snorkeling, drove through plantatians, danced in the street, loved the food and sampled wonderful cocktails, many rum based as it is the Caribbean speciality. You would like the island and the resourcefulness of the Caribbean people as they recycle and make-do and mend as much as possible, often purely out of neccessity. Anyway, I could tell you lots more about it but then you would not have time to read all your messages, so will save my holiday stories for when I see you next. Look forward to reading more on your unfolding adventure Helen. Lots of love Nicky xxx

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb