DAY 9.... I think


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Siberia » Irkutsk
February 19th 2010
Published: February 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Haven't had internet access for a while now and I now only have 15 minutes!

I'm in Irkutsk and just about to get back on the train to head to Ulaan Baatar in Mongolia before heading out to the Ger Camp in the countryside.

The 4 days on the train were actually lots of fun and I didn't get bored till the very last few hours. Time zones still mess with your head a bit though.

Lake Baikal was amazing and I'm sad to leave so soon. Our Honcho (who is an idiot) is taking us round Irkutsk in a bit so we will see how that goes. Long story surrounding why we all think our current Honcho is an idiot which I will fill you in with later when I have more time.

Finally went Huski driving this morning and it was brilliant... didn't fall off and didn't crash into any trees which is always an achievement.

Sorry I don't have time now to respond to all of your lovely messages and comments but time is tight now.

I will be out of range again for some time but if you need me just text but signal can be quite dodgy.

I can now just about drink vodka russian style and it is very good for warming you up.

Love you lots, H x x x x

Advertisement



19th February 2010

Day 9... I think not!
Hi Helen I love seeing that email notice pop up and reading about your exploits. Glad to hear you having lots of fun and you can show me how to drink Vodka, Russian style when you get back. We've had a dump of snow last night and naturally the transport system has fallen apart! Chaos reports from around the region abound. Grandad, Jo and I are well, but guests for the funeral next week are looking very thin on the ground as Doug has been diagnosed with Shingles and Anna has either morning sickness returned with a vengeance or food poisoning (or something). Sarah's unlikely to attend because of her dissertation deadline - so it will be a very small group sending Dennis off on his big journey. C'est la vie! Enjoy Ulan Bataar and I'll look forward to the next installment on your blog. Moot x PS - topping up your phone is exercising me greatly at the moment - but I'm sure someone will help me do it at the weekend - probably Merlin, although he doesn't know it yet.:-)
22nd February 2010

hi there
Hi H Glad to hear you are really enjoying your adventures. What an experience. Keep the updates coming as i am enjoying reading where you are Keep safe and look after yourself love A.jo and U doug XXXX

Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1159s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb