The Art of Standing in Line


Advertisement
Asia
October 27th 2009
Published: October 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Which one is Monica?Which one is Monica?Which one is Monica?

Not only is it weird because I feel like my personal space has been completely invaded, but I also stand out like this bright light bulb and people continuously stare at me.
For many public places where lines are necessary, well... the lines are there but there's another style of making sure you are served. I call it pushing and squishing.

Especially when in line for train tickets, people just can't seem to wait their turn. Luckily, there is one separate line just for women that goes quicker and is a little more organized. The trick is that you can't leave too much space in between yourself and the person in front of you because then someone else will cut you in line. But for me, I like to have at least a small personal bubble, so I leave about an inch and try to stand very firmly as the person behind me presses their body up against me and pushes. I ever so slightly push back so that I don't feel like a complete human sandwich.

In the rare case that there are metal bars to show where the lines should be, my tactic is to put one hand on the bar on each side of me and use my arms to brace against the pushing. When in line at security at the border of India and Pakistan, even this old lady probably in her 70s (sorry Grandma, I'm not saying that you're old) couldn't wait her turn. I had my hands firmly on the metal bars as she tried to move past me, but I proudly held my spot in line :

Advertisement



29th October 2009

Ouch!
Listen, Kiddo, I felt that jab all the way from India--or was it from Pakistan?! That's o.k. 'cause it is just too good to hear from you--- and I'm so proud of you for holding your own against some poor old woman!!! Mom let me know when you and Waldo had arrived safely at Mary and Joe's. Can't wait to hear all about Pakistan. Love you! Grandma
30th October 2009

Love your blog!
Monica, this is yet another verification that small people are stronger than they appear! Plant the feet, grit the teeth and stand the ground! And regarding "standing out like a light bulb", a causasian friend of mine whose brother in law is black told the family that when he visits he feels like a "bean in a bowl of rice"! Take care...continued blessings!

Tot: 0.559s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.092s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb