Nearly home


Advertisement
Asia
September 26th 2009
Published: September 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Was good staying in Ben Tre.. Didnt see much of Phuongs dad.. He works 7 days a week from 6am till 9pm .. Got given heaps of food as usual and bought 3kgs of Vietnamese coffee.. Its the good stuff.. Phuongs aunty has a hook up for it.. cant buy it in a shop, some guy turned up on a motor bike with a big bag of it doing deliveries.. We were waiting for ages.. reminded me of a drug deal or something haha. We want to try and sell it in Aus later.. Phuong got sick in Ben Tre, but seems ok now. TUrned out im leaving Nam on 10pm sun not 10am so had to ring my boss to tell her I wouldnt be back till tues.. she was a bit angry.. went and bought a souvenir to give her.. hopefully that will make it ok :op

Me and Phuong arent too sad this time.. We dont have long to go and wedding plans are coming along strong. Am staying in a pretty nice hotel this time.. stayed there before Ben Tre too.. A balcony room is $15 and the place is pretty clean.. We ' re on the 4th floor tho, which is ok as is good exercise... Ive been having too many coffees with condensed milk haha.. GOt a bit drunk with Phuongs uncle.. The one who has the restaurant... I like him the most I think... Hes got a good heart.. likes to joke around.. and was real excited to show me some chickens hes got out the back now.. he kept saying if Id stay one more day hed make me Chicken Pho.. Grows all his own veges out the back.. He kept asking if I had a white friend for his daughter haha.. I said I worry they party too much then hed be angry at me.. he said thats ok cause he partys alot too! haha. Everyone kept saying Ive got to learn Vietnamese and I do! Im sick of sitting around getting Phuong to translate for me.. I spoke to Phuong about Vows for our wedding.. they dont do it in Vietnam so she didnt know what I was talking about but we're gonna do them.. we're both going to speak them in English and Vietnamese so I had better get crackin.

Some of the auntys were worried about the size chairs theyd need for the aussies and kiwis haha.. I said not to worry what they have is fine. Was stuck in a massive traffic jam getting from the bus station to Bui Vein street last night.. I kept thinking I wish you guys could see it.. haha. Phuong was getting frustrated but I was lovin it.. Was thinking.. oh yea right in the heart of the beast.. dont fight it just embrace it! haha. Thats how it is over here... You can stand on the side of the road for 15 mins too afraid to cross the street but the best thing is too just go and become one with the traffic.. theyll avoid you.

Not alot else to report.. Am thinking about my trip home to NZ .. work is making me work the saturday so I might just come for 2 days.. but am going to see if I can swap a shift with someone so will have sun mon tues off work.. but at this stage is just sun and mon. Am wondering if I should get some pressies for the kids.. Might get Nan a plate too..mmm if I see some cheap stuff and I think people will like em then ok..

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb