Farewell Dharamsala.


Advertisement
Asia
September 15th 2009
Published: September 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Farewell Dharamsala.

My last few days in Dharamsala were like a miasma. I’m not sure that I did a great deal, just wallowed in being spoilt. A bit like a queen bee with the drones humming around me, feeding me, massaging me and all the time I had a vague feeling that I should be doing something but couldn’t quite grasp what. Was I being drugged by the kindness of others?

Lobsang and I had a lovely walk up to a waterfall. It was a good climb and quite slippy at times - it was drizzling too which didn’t help, but eventually we made it. I needed a bit of exercise anyway.

I bought a couple of “Chubas” with blouses, the traditional Tibetan dress and even travelled in one when I left Dharamsala. I will have to go to Tibet now to get some wear out of the others!

Then it was time to leave. A bit sad as everyone had been so kind, I had made some very close friendships but I am sure that we shall keep in touch by email. I got in the Taxi to leave and Lobsang was going to come with me but then the taxi driver said he was not coming back to Mcleod Ganj but going on to Shimla, so Lobsang jumped out and off I went. Very quickly with no time for too many sad goodbyes. Just as well really.

The bus trip was long, long, long. The seat reclined so I got a bit of sleep but not much. Arrived in Dehra Dun at about 5.30.a.m, found my way to the local bus station (with giant orange suitcase) and waited an hour until the bus to Rishikesh. Auto-rickshaw to the ashram and ahhhhhh, clean peaceful, beautiful. Greg, my American friend had spoken to them and I had a little bungalow waiting for me.



THIS IS DRIVING ME CRAZY! CANNOT NOW UPLOAD PHOTOS AND HAVE SO MANY TO DO. MAY WAIT UNTIL BACK IN ADELAIDE.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0807s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb