Day one Delhi - Culture shock!


Advertisement
Asia
July 27th 2009
Published: July 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I woke, well never really slept with all the excitment, to the sound of lots of activity in the hotel. After a quick shower and some breakfast, continental option i'm afraid, I headed out.
I walked down the street, which was packed with people all doing many different jobs. I turned and went back, flip flops were not going to be suitable.
Take two. I headed to the red fort - see photos. Paid a guide 3 pounds to talk me through the fort and its history. A good first visit.
After that I went to the bird hospital to see the many injured birds being nursed back to health.
After being guided back to my hotel the long way round, I did know the way back, and paying for the privelage. I got back to the hotel for a rest and to change by soaking t-shirt, its sooooooo hot!! Then went for a chicken byrianni, which was deliscious. Then I went around a few markets and shops and tried to book a tour for the rest of my trip but was misdirected and taken to the wrong tourist office. I later reliased and went to the real tourist office who said they are 'bad people' and spent and hour on the phone getting me a full refund by which time it was 6:30 and too late to book anything so I will get a train tomorrow and book a hotel online tonight for the Taj Mahal.
I ended the day at McDonalds, hurray for McDonalds!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0163s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb