Celebrity Status


Advertisement
Asia
July 1st 2009
Published: July 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was Korean Traditional Art day numero dos. This morning, we did calligraphy. For lunch, we went to the cutest Italian restaurant called Sorrento. Their restaurants here are adorable. In the afternoon, we made a kite and a frame. For dinner, all I had was rice and the lunch ladies fried us some eggs, since they knew we wouldn't eat any of the food that was being served. Oh, they are just plain awesome here.
In the evening, Min-Jee and I went to the international market and shopped around. She had mentioned when she was in the States, she did not buy any jewelry because it was so expensive compared to here. I wasn't sure what she was talking about. Well, I do now! We went into a jewelry store that had such inexpensive jewelry, from bracelets to hair ties to necklaces to earrings to cell phone covers. Oh, it had a bunch. I bought two pairs of earrings for 2,000 won, which is like $1.50 for us. Granted, it's prolly super cheap quality, but it'll get the job done for going out.

Well, tonight I stood out like a foreigner more than ever...

--Little kids would see me and say, "Hi!" (That is the most frequent thing that happens to us...other than getting stared at)

--I was on the subway, and there is an area reserved just for older people. Those are literally the only people that can sit there. The subway could be packed with people and no one will sit there if they are not over 60 or something. Anyway, some old guy came on the subway, saw I was standing when there were seats available and went up to my ear and shouted "Hey!" I thought he wanted me to move, so I did, and he pointed to the empty reserved seats. I shook my head, trying to decide if he was just trying to make fun of the foreigners for sitting in an obviously restricted are of the subway car. Whateverrr.

--I think he was drunk but some guy came up to me and was like.."America??" And then the other guys around him said, "Welcome to Korea!"

--I was walking through the streets, and some guys stopped me, told me they attended a local university, and said their assignment was to take a picture with a foreigner. I'm glad I could help with someone's homework.

We were supposed to pack tonight, but since it's kinda late, we are putting it off...
Night!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb