Hong Kong March 25 ++


Advertisement
Asia
April 5th 2009
Published: April 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

March 25
I woke up super early to get to the airport but of course I was to early to check in. Thanks mom haha
After much waiting we were off. It was only about a hour and half flight but they managed to feed us quickly. It was awesome, all my flights have had meals. Only crappy USA got skimpy with meals your lucky to get peanuts. Anyway when we landed it was raining out so that was a bit of a downer. I threw on my rain coat n walked around center of hong kong to try n find a camera shop to fix me camera. I thought for sure this would be my best bet. But no such luck. I must have stopped at 4 shops. So I gave up only to try n find the bagel factory I was so excited for but after walking up n down the street for a while and even asking someone I had no luck with that venture either.
I grabbed a sandwich from a Hong Kong fast food place then I headed over to alexs place. When I got there the women at the front desk just asked who I was staying with and then gave me my own key card. So I headed up n knocked and headed in.
Alex is 39 year old French guy who produces commercials. He's really nice guy. He has a small NYC style apartment tiny but workable. He had a cool view from his bed room. The was a basketball and soccer field in front of his building which made for a nicer view than pressed up against other buildings.

March 26
Alexs place had a small gym so I did a little work out. Then I headed out to see the craziness of Hong Kong. I checked the convention center. Which was beautiful. It had a 7 story curtain of glass (window) of a cross bay view. I also tried to check the art center but couldn't seem to find the right floor. Then I checked a "computer store" which was more of a high tech market it was a nerds dream. It was awesome checking out all new computers and things. I thought I saw a new iphone so I asked about it but the guy said it wasnt new just Chinese style. It was smaller and cheaper. Haha crazy smart lil people. Then I headed over to the city park, Victoria park. It was nice but I think central park has it beat. From here I walked down some of the major shopping streets, very impressive.
Then I caught the subway over to the other side of the island. The more commercial n restaurant side. Where I walked around a while. I checked out Man Ho temple pretty standard but there were some massive incense coils inside, which was pretty cool. But there was a tone of smoke inside. It had a ghostly feeling to it which I supposed is what they were going for. I then walked the NoHo (north hollwood rd) strip lined with nice new restaurants but still had crazy small alleys with typical market vendors.
It's sort of like NYC here where you can get a of variety of food. But I don't think the eat any hardcore China food like cat or scorpions, which is ok with me. I need a break for a little while. I need some normal food, I can't wait for a pizza n the egg to open. And regrettably I think I finally got a little stomach bug. Apparently I dont have dads super iron stomach yet. No throwing up just some discomfort occasionally n runns.
After my walk I headed back to alexs

March 27
I did another little work out today. Then headed over to the mainland Kowloon peninsula. Where I walked another shopping strip over here then hit the space museum and the hong kong history museum. The space museum was pretty good but the hk one was awesome it told the history from land mass formation until the British handed it back over to china in 97. It was really interesting and informative. I had no idea what hong kong was n now I know a little haha. From here I hit the jade market but I was pretty late so I missed most of the action but still picked something up. Then I hit the temple street night market where like most night markets you can buy anything and everything. Although I was surprised by the sex toy vendors that was a new one. I picked up an egg market sign for mark and chicken wing key chain, haha I said everything. Then headed back to alex's. Oh forgot to mention it has been warmish but foggy with periods of rain so ok for museums and shooing not good for photos of the impressive skyline.

March 28
I had got a message from Zak that I had met in Fiji and he said he was in hong kong for work so I tried going to his hotel but I was a day late bummer. I also got a message from the other couch surfers girl I had contacted to meet her today and do something. So I chilled on the harbor front for a while then went to meet her. I was expecting her and maybe one other person but there was about 10. Apparently this German guy had contacted a few people to meet up and one of the local guys brought four friends. We went to have lunch then hit a market because apparently we were having a BBQ later. We then headed to Tai O, one of the girls was from there. It was an amazing little fishing village. I wasn't expecting that being so close to hong kong, just outside the crazy business center. But it was awesome all the homes were in the water on stilts. Poor but better off than other poor areas I have seen. We got to take the girl's family boat out to look around it was awesome. Then we walked around the village n did a little hike up a small mount. It had very nice view. Then we headed back to the girls house where they prepaid the food for us to BBQ. They also had some crabs. It's was really cool. We all got a crab then got a BBQ fork n just picked some meat skewered it up and held it over the fire. Slow roasting but of was good fun and good food. Then around 1030 a few of us headed back what should face taken a 30 min ferry ride turned into about 2 be between bus n subway. Haha oh well.

March 29
I did another work out. Then headed to the peak tram because it was a lithe brighter out today n I might get a view.
It turned out to be decent probably the best shot for while I'm here but still not great. That said it still was very impressive. So so many big buildings. I decided to walk back down which was a very steep but a nice long walk.
I had intentions to head to Ma Chau the Vegas of Asia but it was already a lill late and it was going to cost 40 bucks to get there n back. I decided I couldn't be bothered so I walked around SoHo again. Mainly to try n find this street vendor who was selling costumes because he had a chicken one I wanted to get but he wasnt there. I browsed another high tech store then went and hot a decent burger.
After dinner I headed over to the peninsula to chill on the harbor to catch up on here and wait for the night light show. Apparently the biggest in the world from top of the buildings at 8 pm. It's not foggy but clouds above so should make an interesting show lighting up the clouds. It's freaking freezing today though. I didn't bring my jacket because I thought it was gonna be warm but I was way wrong. 8 p m cannt get here soon enough
So as I was waiting I met a nice Pakistany boy. Again someone random started talking to me haha. He was very nice. He moved to hong kong about 8 moths ago to study then live and work. The best thing was though his name it was saddam husain. Pretty crazy it startled me for a min.
Back to the light show. It lasted about 15 mins n was pretty cool. The buildings all light up n dance to the beat n some have lasers on top. It's call the symphony of lights.
After the show I just headed back because I was freezing.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.313s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 42; dbt: 0.113s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb