The Bathroom Blog (cont, read other first)


Advertisement
Asia
January 21st 2006
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Indian Style TolietIndian Style TolietIndian Style Toliet

I promised a pic, so here it is. This is the typical scene, though it is cleaner than many I encountered...and you can't see the water spicket and little bucket.
Okay...I have to write about the bathroom situation because it is a riot and I really want to share about it, but be forewarned...and log out if you don't want to hear about it. I'm a bit leary since not all of you are close friends who would normally hear this kind of stuff (doesn't that make you want to get even closer to me?!), but I'm going to share anyway.

So you have to picture this...I'm in an Indian salwar suit...big baggy pants with a drawstring under a long flowing top (comes down below my knees) and a long draping scarf that hangs loose down my back. It is very comfortable...like wearing pajamas, until you have to pee...then my aerobic capabilities come in very handy. 😉

So, the public toliets (many of the people we are staying with have Western toliets in their homes) are basically holes in the ground. They aren't dirt, but they are holes made for squatting (I'm bringing back a picture...of the toliet...I'm not in it!). They are almost always quite dirty and wet, as the Indians don't use toliet paper and use a pot of water (filled from a spicket in the wall
Banana Grove-Our Alternate Toliet!Banana Grove-Our Alternate Toliet!Banana Grove-Our Alternate Toliet!

These beautiful scenes became our toliets along the way as we drove across the countryside. They were a welcome alternative to the public restrooms available elsewhere, and people (particularly men) peeing on the side of the road were a common site in India, even in the towns. (Their backs were generally turned to the road...I'll spare you the photo!)
or a hose) to rinse instead...so the floor is wet with all kinds of "stuff" and water and muddy from dust and shoes.

At last night's Rotary Meeting, I had to go to the bathroom. As I approached it, I just started cracking up laughing...I already told you, I was at a 9.5...and the thought of the "pee process" was beyond me! I decided that I would write about it...which made the whole thing more fun.

So, this is the process: roll up my pants so they don't get in the "stuff" and wet while I squat, while flinging my long top back over my shoulder, and wrapping my scarf many times around my neck so it doesn't drop onto the floor, or into the hole, squatting and trying to aim so that I don't hit my shoes or any of the layers of fabic that are now wrapped all around the top part of my body, including the baggy pants that are very much in the way. Meanwhile, I have to get kleenex (serving as toliet paper) out of my bag (which is either around my waist or hanging out of my teeth) because I don't know how I would possibly manage the water spicket routine along with everything else. Then, afterwards, everything has to get put back into place without falling and getting wet. And the process is always followed by a big squirt of hand sanitizer and/or a wet wipe for my hands because there isn't any soap, water, paper towels. Doesn't that sound fun?!

Here's the even better part...men don't use the public toliets. Mostly, you see their backs turned to the road and they just pee on the street sides (I'm not kidding), so it really stinks being a woman. Not that I want to pee on the street, but the public toliet process is my least favorite thing here. On our long van trips, we women have started going into the banana groves rather than stopping at a toliet...no one can see us, it is quite acceptable here and it sure beats the toliet situation. It is a whole other world, my friends!

Oh, one other fun bathroom story. One of Debbie's host families has small children...and they don't generally wear diapers. Debbie was holding one of the children, and the little girl urinated all over her outfit. The family said it is considered a blessing and it was no big deal...it is just a cultural thing. Debbie is such a trooper, she just went with it (we have to do that...cultural differences!) and she didn't get to clean up til much later in the day.

Okay...that's all for the bathroom stories. I promise to be much more appropriate in future blogs! Thanks for letting me share! And, I want to make sure you know that I consider myself very blessed...even with all of this stuff, I'm clear this is once in a lifetime and I wouldn't trade it for the world. Much love to you all! Don't take your restrooms for granted!

Advertisement



21st January 2006

the best ever
i am laughing so hard i think the neighbors can hear. those are the kinds of toilets we experienced in Europe! you are absolutely hilarious. i imagine the acrobatics are even more intense when you have to poop. hahahaha!! thanks for sharing. :-)
21st January 2006

Potty Break...
Now try your potty routine on a moving train! Be forewarned, never use the Western toilet on the train. As men "attempt" to use it they urinate ALL over the toilet and everything else. If one must relieve oneself, by all means use the Indian toilet as its much, much cleaner.
21st January 2006

Re: Thanks for describing only the "pee" process!!
Too funny Jody, although I'm clear not for you. It sure gives me perspective though. Things I take for granted... Aside from the some of the less than fun aspects of India, (like the "bathrooms") I do like the idea of walking around in comfortable and colorful pajama's all day. And the cultural differences in getting their way. Such a human thing to want what we want and manipulate to get it... it must be funny and interesting to witness. Everything is good at your house. I checked in with Lauren today and all is well. Luna likes to sleep right next to her head... cute. I'm sure the kitty's miss you. And so do the rest of us! Love ya, Gia
22nd January 2006

Adoring you
I envy and love you. What a wonderful tribute you are to their culture and ours. I had no idea the Rotary Club was so involved over seas. You will probably come back to America selling tatoos instead of Mary Kay cosmetics like you did from Finland. Love to meet all these people we are hearing about. The education of a life time. Proud to be your Mom.
22nd January 2006

Hey Sweetie! Sounds like you're truely getting the full experience...I'm sure you wouldn't have it any other way! Tammy would be proud of your public toliet performance...Thank God for boot camp! Take care, can't wait to see your pictures. No word from your cats, so I assume they're doing well!
23rd January 2006

Ahhhhh...........memories
Thanks for reminding how it was like to utilize the holes in the ground for peeing, and.....well.....you know ;) I was in India in 1989/1990 (winter break from college), and I recall having some "gastrointestinal distress" (don't drink the water) while in a small town where some of my relatives live. I was at one of my aunt's house, and they only had a hole in the ground. I refused to use a hole in the ground this time, so I had my cousin take me on his scooter (very fast) to another aunt's house that had a "western toilet". Riding on a scooter in India on rough roads while having stomach issues was so "fun". Sorry for the graphic-ness of my description, but given your description of using a hole in the gorund, I thought it would be appropriate :)
23rd January 2006

Ahhhhh...........memories
Jody -- Your story brings back fond memories of my last trip to India. I was in a small town in the state of Punjab visiting family in 1989/1990 (on winter break during college), and I developed a "gastrointestinal issue" (don't drink the water). I was at my dad's sister place one evening, and yes, they only had a hole in the ground. I wasn't feeling well (again, don't drink the water), but I refused to use the hole in the ground for what I knew would be a lengthy and unpleasurable experience. So, I had my cousin race me over to my other aunt's house on his scooter because she had a western toilet. I don't mind telling you that bouncing around on a scooter at high speeds does not help someone in my situation :) Fortunately, I arrived "on time". Thank goodness for the western toilet! --Ravi
24th January 2006

What an adventure!
Hey Jody! I'll try to keep this short, but there's so much to tell you! Have spent the last hour or so getting caught up on your adventures in India - incredible. I am in Phoenix, and was hoping to see you while I'm here, but wasn't getting a response to my emails, so I "Googled" you and here you are! I know you'll be busy when you get home, but I'll be here until Feb 12, so hope like heck I can see you before I leave. Big hugs and kisses, Kate
24th January 2006

Hilarious!
I can totally picture this - your writing is so evocative, and kudos for finding the humor in it! I've been thoroughly enjoying your blog, and I admire the attitude you bring to this trip, as well as your willingness to jump in and "go native" (and I can't wait to see your pierced nose!)
28th January 2006

What a trooper!
Jody - loving your blogs - you should really put these in a book when you return!Knowing my clumsiness I would have probably tripped and gone face first into the hole! :) It is amazing to hear all of what you are experiencing - truly seems like a "once in a lifetime" trip!

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb