Tsunami in India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
January 24th 2006
Published: January 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Beautiful ChildrenBeautiful ChildrenBeautiful Children

These girls lost one of their parents in the tsunami, and many of them lost siblings too. We visited a school underwritten by Rotary, where these students are given food, clothing, books and an education that they wouldn't otherwise get. These girls were amazing...I loved being with them. They are so resiliant...they still give me goosebumps.
Hi All,
Thank you once again for all of your fabulous messages and notes. I'm sorry for being out of touch. We've been out in small towns and villages and the internet connections are either non-existant or unreliable...or are so slow I can't even believe it (a British guy and I were lamenting a connection that hardly worked at "an internet cafe" at the hill station the other night). To those of you who have sent messages, I'm sorry you haven't seen them posted right away, I have to accept them to have them show up on the website, and I haven't had a fast enough connection that I can do that. So, tonight I have an opportunity to get online at a decent connection, but I have an audience (my host father is standing here waiting on me...there is no connection at their house...I'm feeling rude, but I don't care...I really wanted to communicate with all of you...and, for some reason, they don't seem to understand that).

I have so much to tell you, but no time to do it...I'm frustrated because the stories are so wonderful...and I'm dying to type them in detail. We've spent the day at
The Fish LadyThe Fish LadyThe Fish Lady

This is my host mom (Maduri) negotiating with the fish lady, who brings fish directly from the ocean to the front door. You are looking at our lunch that day. Notice the casual everyday cotton saree and her nose decor (mine is much smaller). You can also see her gold chain under her saree--this is their version of a wedding ring. Each woman's necklace is somewhat different, with different charms...the husband puts it on his wife during their wedding ceremony and she doesn't remove it (or isn't supposed to) until he dies.
a Village/small town that lost around 7,000 lives (of 100,000) during the tsunami. The stories are moving beyond belief...I wish I could tell them. And I have so much more to tell you...like the fish lady who came today with creatures I've never seen before for us to choose from for lunch...fresh directly from the sea. And our host at the "hill station" who had a disco ball in his living room (no kidding) and a key board and kereoke (sp?)...you should have heard his renditions of "Rhinestone Cowboy" and "Life Goes On." Everything is so unbelieveable.

Tonight we spent about an hour hearing the story of Paramesvaran. He is the man I told you about who lost all three of his children (and seven other relatives) to the tsunami. He and his wife have taken 15 orphaned children into their home to heal themselves...they say it is more for them than to help the children (so humble). Tonight he told us in detail how he survived the waves and lost his children...finding their bodies...burying them. I don't have time to tell you the story, but you must hear it. You can go to his website at www.elijakiruba.com to
Disco King!Disco King!Disco King!

This is our fabulous host family in front of their home at the Kodakanal hill station. He runs a tour business and has a disco ball in his living room. They are a wonderful family and we had a hoot of a time!
read about it. You'll need kleenex, but it is worth it...truly amazing.

We also visited a school this afternoon where all of the children lost one of their parents during the tsunami. The Indian government is caring for children who lost both parents, but these children were lost in the shuffle. Rotary has stepped in and is paying for their food, clothing, education, etc. Most of these children lost multiple siblings along with a parent...and they still live next to an unpredictable sea that scares them. Yet they are so resilent. We had the opportunity to sit and talk and laugh with them...to tell them how inspiring and beautiful they are. You know, everything I've been experiencing today really puts everything in perspective...the tiny things that typical annoy me are nothing compared to what these amazing people have endured. And they are happy. I'll never be the same.

I must go. I'm sending love...and, as usual, I can't wait to show you the pictures and tell you all the stories. I love and miss you all so much! My new favorite game each day is what meal I will have the night I get back...I can hardly stand
Boating at the Hill StationBoating at the Hill StationBoating at the Hill Station

This is me and two of our good friends boating in Kodakanal. The man in back is Muthuvelu, but we called him "the Don" (from mafia fame) because of how he protected and watched after us. The man next to me is "the Mimic," so called because he is very talented at mimicking famous politicans, trains, dogs, etc...hours of entertainment!
the food any more...they eat the same thing every day at every meal. It was yummy for two weeks, then I got sick and now I just can't eat it any more. My host families are being very understanding and accomodating...thank god.

I'll write again when I can.

Advertisement



24th January 2006

I got goose bumps when you talked about talking with the children and that they're happy after all they've been through...and how your life is changed. You're blessed to have a life changing experience. Thank you for sharing it with us.
24th January 2006

And one more thing
So what ARE you thinking of having for dinner Monday evening, the 6th?
24th January 2006

Thank you
Jody, Thank you once again for sharing all the realities of your world right now. Wow, what a story around Paramesveran and his family. Its painful to read - I can't imagine how he lives it and how you hear so many stories. You are blessed to be there. Be strong, keep close to your soul. I keep you in my prayers, as well as the rest of you. Please send my brother, Mike, my love. Thanks - Dani
24th January 2006

Blogger of the Year!!
You have been an awesome blogger! It's been great looking forward to your blogs! I am true Indian or so I thought and you have taught me so much through your experiences. Thanks..you are amazing!
24th January 2006

Enjoying your blogs
Jody, Just wanted to let you know how much I'm enjoying your blogs. Our perception of other countries is often so different from the reality. It's interesting hearing about both the wealth and poverty in India - so much different than here in the US where most people are "middle class." Loved the snippet about the cow blessing a home!
24th January 2006

Life
Hi Jody, your entries are always so descriptive and honest. I love to read them. As I told Mike, the children that you have met put a whole new spin on the phrase, "Through the eyes of a babe." Life has already taught them lessons no child should have to learn and yet they smile and move forward. May we all learn from these children what is important in life!
24th January 2006

I would have never survived the food
Jody, Not to make you jealous, but I am getting ready to eat some pizza. Yum! I give you a lot of credit for surviving the food alone. I don' like seafood so I pretty much would be forced to bring a lot of canned food if I ever traveled there. The husband and wife who took in all those children inspite of losing their own (and relatives) is amazing and healing. When I look at the challenges that I have in life, they pale incomparison to what happened to this couple. Keep the stories coming when you can. Dan
24th January 2006

What an experience
I envy you the experience you're living. I can't imagine how much this is affecting you. Thank you for sharing it all, good and bad, with us!

Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1809s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb