Arriving in Abu Dhabi


Advertisement
Asia
January 24th 2009
Published: January 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

From what I have seen so far it is busy and very much a middle east city, busy, lots and lots of traffic and people and strange lettering everywhere (actually there are a lot of signs in English too).
I was given the tip to wear a scarf over my head when outside even though not required and since 80% of residents here are ex-pats and though I saw not a single other non Muslam woman do so, customs was easier to get through here then anywhere I have been and the conversation was all about how lovely my scarf was and surely I had been here before etc...
Other locals (taxi driver, receptionist) commented and were clearly pleased with that choice - and you know me, any chance to dress up...

The hotel that I am in is quite nice (but not extravagant - darn!). It is right downtown though I and have access to a beautiful pool. though not today as it was cold (60 degrees) and rained today which they say is a good sign as it does so only 5 days a year!

I had a nice Indian meal with a woman from the company who came to meet me for a meal and was very sweet (an Indian ex-pat) and she walked to the mall to get an adaptor for the computer (which required me to convert from a three pin to European to Arabian because all the Arabian adaptors are for two pin only....) Thank god she did because the mall was packed with men (Friday only bachelors leave the house apparently) and oh dear the attention, men walking into us and the amount of goods and stores and lights!

During the meal she shared with me about her life here in UAE (18 years) and she told me a terrible story of how her 15 year old daughter was recently put in jail for a week simply for being out after midnight ! She had to call the embassy and fought with them day and night for a week to get her daughter out -and then only after they took blood and ran tests and took fingerprints and on and on. I was beside myself hearing this, but she did assure me that the jail had large screen tvs and a pool and gymnasium and good food too (I prefer not to find out ) She also warned me not to befriend a stray animal on the street for even picking up a pigeon to rescue it would be "stealing" and could warrant a year in jail!She has already taught me a little about being aggressive and how to shoo people away with a bit of a growl (quite a combination, scarves and growls!)
Oh dear oh dear - what have I gotten myself into?

Advertisement



28th January 2009

Thanks, Paige
Thanks for taking the time to fill us in on life in Abu Dhabi. It is nice to be able to view it from a friend's eyes. I guess the behavior of men walking into women at the mall is a great illustration of a social system that has been stressed/skewed to its max! I'm glad the people work for you and I'm looking forward to hearing more...

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb