Little India day 2


Advertisement
Asia
November 6th 2008
Published: November 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Up at 6am after a bad nights sleep... anyway few games on the Wii, bit of pool, breakfast and onto Sentosa island with my mate. Just got the tube in for a couple of quid. Beaches are amazing and the water was boiling.... Two bottles, of Corona.. 35 SGD...Thats about a tenner a bottle so we skipped it

The whole place is amazing. Beaches are fantastic man made creations which could be mistaken from the ones in the film 'the beach' what they cant detract from however, is the fact there was about 100 cargo vestles and trawlers docked up only a stones throw away. Still, im not complaining. Agreed we'd have a shot on a Luge, I didnt quite realise I had to ride up the mountain on a ski lift. Anyway - I thought it just followed the countours of the hills and just got on. How wrong could I be!!! It went to at least 100ft in the air at one point, and im awful with heights.. this ski lift was just a park bench, with a bar running across yor thighs. Looked like a broom stick, the whole thing looked battered. Honest it was the longest 5 minutes of my life, proper bad episode. At the end you can see a gallery of pictures of the people on the lift. I must admit, everyone looks chilled out and happy. I just look like im about to cry. I aint gettin on no ski-lift from now on

The rest of the day was quite relaxing, went to the underwater park and had my photos taken with two snakes... off this Del Boy like character, im such the tourist!

Headed back into town for some food.... another curry

Got showered and headed into town with a few lads from the hostel, few games of pool and a quiet drink. Dodged into this unusually busy shopping mall at about 10pm. It seems, by day this place houses all your regular shops and bars... and by night, half the power supply is cut and the place miracuously transforms into a red light district. Anyway had a quick look and ran out as fast as possible!!! When I get back to Newcastle I might discuss my findings with the director of Eldon Square hahaha

Went on to have a chineese meal at 3am which was awful. Got back to the hostel hoping it might be a bit lively but no such luck. Got one more day left at this place and need to start planning where im headed next. Im thinking Malacca on the west coast of Malaysia. This is all TBC... what I also need to do is begin this course of malaria tablets

Advertisement



8th November 2008

Heights
I ain't gettin on no Ski-Lift. Here Paddy, drink this milk...

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb