Turbo Charged Bangkok Tuk Tuks


Advertisement
Asia
June 19th 2008
Published: July 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Turbo Charged Tuk Tuk 44 secs
After an entertaining night out in Hong Kong while miserably losing at a pub quiz and getting a random drunk bloke arrested and fined for smoking in a non-smoking bar, we decided to leave China and head for the beautiful beaches of chilled out Thailand.

It is now my 6th visit to Thailand, and I still love the country as much as the first time. Lots of things have changed in the name of progress, but Khao San Road is just as mental as I remember.

Flying around Bangkok in a turbo charged Tuk Tuk is always a hair raising experience, especially after asking an opium fuelled driver to go crazy, although pulling wheelies down the road and lifting his hands off the handle bars while listening to the sound of a supped up go kart engine was not what I had in mind! I held on tightly while we weaved in and out of traffic with my recent Beijing Mini Bus accident replaying in my mind - Lucky we are still alive :-)

I spent some time wondering around the Khao San area amazed by the number of new hotels, guest houses and bars that have been built since my last visit way back in 2002. So much has changed, but I was happy to find Gullivers Bar and Wally's Guest House (still only 150 THB a night) still exist.

I blew a few days budget at the markets of Pat Pong. Who doesn't? With fake designer clothes, watches and souvenirs for sale at ridiculously cheap prices, its difficult not to go spending. We had a few hours wondering around the markets while being constantly hassled by Go-Go Girls and Lady Boys. It always makes me laugh to the length some of the girls will go to try and get your attention!

Since I have traveled around Bangkok before, I jumped on the first night bus/boat combo trip heading to Koh Phanang desperate to enjoy some well deserved chill out time on Bottle Beach following the chaotic events of the last few months in India and China.

The bus/boat trip only took 14 hours costing about seven pounds. We traveled in a really nice air conditioned bus with a TV showing movies. I feel like I am back in the western world again using luxury transport and surrounded by thousands of westerners.

Travel in Thailand has become unbelievably easy since my last visit, but unfortunately it has taken away some of the adventure and magic that originally attracted me to Thailand. Gone are the days of using public transport and old tin busses. Now you just walk into a travel agent and book a tourist bus to your destination. To ensure you don't get lost they even put a colored sticker on you to ensure you are processed through the system correctly - boring!

Although some of the travelers in Thailand seem so young compared to India and China it is nice to be able to have a conversation in English without pointing in phrase books. No one hassles or threatens to stab you here, its great to be back in Thailand!







Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 26; qc: 96; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb