Kathmandu wanderings


Advertisement
Asia
August 16th 2007
Published: August 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I meet 2 girls this afternoon, Maya and her friend. They both looked like they were no older than 16. The both had babies strapped to their back, I wasn't sure if these were their children on their siblings, since they looked so young. As it turned out, they were both their children and each had 2 more at home. (they were 26 and 24).

I was trying to find an ATM and getting a little worried because the last 3 didn't take my card. At first, I tried to give them short answers to their questions because I figured they were just trying to sell me something. But they were geniuely nice and helpful pointing out where alternate ATMs and a bank were, until I found one that worked.

With the money situation finally in hand, of course they did ask me if I wanted to but one of their silk bags. I told them I really dont need one (my backpack in bulging already), but asked if they want to go to lunch with me. Given the fact that lunch in Kathmandu is about 4 US dollars, I thought it was a good price to pay for some interesting lunch conversation. They both lived just outside the city and had been selling these silk bags for many years. On a good day they sold about 200-300 ruppes worth of bags. (the current exchange rate is about 1 us dollar to 70 rupees). They both spon

Their little girls ate the pizza like it was the best thing they ever tasted, I have probably permanently ruined them on Dal Bhaat forever.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0963s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb