Day 11 Nha Trang


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
July 30th 2015
Published: August 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 11
On the overnight bus to Nha Trang. I was quite looking forward to the journey as last time it was clean air conditioned and had toilets. I thing we must have had a premium bus. This bus was not so good. No toilets and very smelly. It was so full people were laying on the floor. I watched 2 films on my iPad and tried to ignore it. I wondered what the "wet dog" smell was then realised it was the blanket I had over my legs. We'd stopped early on for the driver to rest. Usually you stop again about 11pm but not this time. I couldn't get my seat to recline so slept upright. Which was a blessing and a curse. The curse was cramped legs the blessing was I didn't wake up with water bags under my eyes which seems to be the norm! At 3am a woman was shouting from the back of the bus to stop as she needed the toilet urgently. We pulled in to what is usually a roadside cafe. This time it was just rough ground - baron area. Everyone, male and female got off the bus and just squatted and pee'd. Lesley just got straight to it. Thank god I'd been at the last stop. I did want to go but not badly enough to do a communal squat! All back in the bus. The driver has music on loud. People asked him to turn it off so they could sleep but he ignored them and turned it up .

I got back off to sleep and we arrived at 7am. Many men with scooter taxis waited outside the bus touting for business. The hotel said they would pick us up but we couldn't see anyone. Lesley rang the hotel. They said it was too far to collect us. 2 of the taxi men offered to take us for less than £2 so we said yes. I say "we" Lesley did it all while I stood in a daze. I'd not come around yet from the journey and didn't quite hear what was going on. Lesley just said "get on the motorbike" so I did! We were on it for about 3 mins the hotel was around the corner! The receptionist said they thought we were at the bus station and apologised. At least the bike ride woke me up! As it was only 7am the room wasn't ready for us so we went in search for refreshments. We found a posh coffee shop (rare) around the corner near a large water puppet theatre and had Americano and cappuccino . We were in heaven.

We sat and planned the day. As we only had one day here we needed to make the most of it. It's a very busy city compared to Hoi An but I like the contrast. We decided on beach then mud baths.

The hotel is situated only 100 metres from the beach. At the hotel the room was ready for us so a quick freshen up and change then to the beach. The hotel room is nice. No balcony and the bathroom situation is strange as its all glass. It's a good job Lesley and I are friends! (there is a blind!)

We were sat on the beach for 9am. Bliss. The sea was cooling but warm. I had my first coconut milk drink. They have them on ice and just slice the top off, straw and off you go. It was quite nice, a bit sickly though. We sat on towels right at the side of the sea and just kept going in for a dip to cool down. It wasn't that busy but it was 9am.

After a couple of hours we headed for brunch. Mango pancakes for me and Lesley had French toast. Looking forward to the mud baths.

We're just back from the mud baths. Wasn't what I was expecting but it was good fun non the less. We took the shuttle bus from the hotel. It gave us a great opportunity to see what was near to us when we go out this evening. Lots of eating places and topiary gardens. There is a festival here and it looks like there will be many coloured lights later.

Lesley had described to me her previous experience of mud baths in China. In caves with real mud. When we were led to an area that was full of sunken baths in mock stone I was surprised. The man turned the bamboo tap and all the warm mud started to fill the bath. We got in and it was warm and very soothing on your skin. It was hard to not float it must have been the minerals in the mud. We had a great time. Lesley wanted her monies worth so we stayed until they asked us to leave! We then showered before we were invited to go in the pool with a waterfall. Lesley went straight to it, climbing the rocks and standing under the waterfall. I'd tried hard all day not to get my hair wet... but what the hell I went for it too. It was exhilarating. Back to the shuttle bus. We'd forgotten to bring a change of clothes so went home in soggy muddy costumes and shorts. We soon dried off. Coffee time again. We only have one day here but feel we've made the most of it.

Back at the hotel Lesley kindly helped me organise my backpack. It has been a chore on an evening trying to repack as I've been a bit untidy but everything's fitting better now. I had a lovely hot shower. Omg there is nothing like it. You do appreciate the little things like hot water and sit down toilets!

Out on the town, well ..... around the corner for something to eat. We ate traditional again. It was a lovely restaurant but the staff weren't too friendly. We strolled along the seafront. It is a very cosmopolitan city high rise buildings,Sheridan hotel, high class shopping centres. There were lots of people on the beach even though it was dark. A huge group of about 30. Seemed like a family gathering all enjoying their food and catching up. There were many young military personnel walking around. I think there is a large military base in the city. Conscription is mandatory in Vietnam. The young girl we were helping with her English told us that at 16 both male and female have to go into the forces. Her mum had to even though she was pregnant. We decided on a night cap coffee at the puppet coffee shop before bed. Can't wait for the motorbike tour!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb