Enchanting Hội An - PART 2 // English version


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
August 9th 2014
Published: August 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

5am: time to wake up! For a backpacker like me, it’s a habit to get up early. Because I want to live as many things as I can. Today is a new day. Many things are waiting for me. Rather than turn on the light at the risk of waking up my roommates who are still sleeping deeply, I use my phone to find my way until the exit. But in those moments, even if you try to be silencer, there is always a creaking door or something that has nothing to do on your road and missing to make you fall ... Sorry, I'm just passing through!

Outside, Hội An is waking up slowly … It’s one of the best moments in a day, important to appreciate. There is few of people on the road, air is still fresh, and you don’t sweat for each small effort you make! I go up on my motorbike, and I take the road! My mission of this morning: enjoy the sunrise in the rice fields.

5km further: here I am. It’s still early. There are not many workers in the rice fields. Waiting the show, I decide to go to greet the buffaloes, who are enjoying a good mud bath... Their bodies are submerged. I can only see some heads above water. They look like martens, supervising their territory, and looking for the first curious one who will dare to come to disturb them (myself for example!).

Then, I met a Vietnamese guy, who was running along the rice fields. For Vietnamese people, it’s a habit to practice sport early in the morning. Now, to wake up early by the crowing of the cock and the rising of the morning star is almost familiar for me. So, maybe I should try to do some exercises like him? Hmm… knowing my sporting aptitudes, it’s not the best idea!

5.20 am: The show is starting. The sun has not yet risen, but the sky begins to clear. My camera is ready to capture every moment of this special time. The first sun rays, with a palette of colors reflecting in the lake in front of which I am. The air is warming up and the horizon is appearing step by step. The magic happens. Just you have time to take your shots, it's already over!

So, I continue my walk to Tra Que Village (pronounced "Tcha Oué"). Here, residents grow lots of vegetables and herbs, such as basil and mint which are selling in some markets of Hội An, or are used by local restaurateurs. The particularity of Tra Que? This is one of the few organic villages of Vietnam. Here, no fertilizer, no chemicals, no modern equipment. But gardens as beautiful as ours, fed by freshwater algae. For tourists, it's a must-see of Hội An.

7.30 am: it’s time to return to the hotel! Appointment with “easyriders” for a turn “out of beaten paths”. Program of the day: The Mỹ Sơn sanctuary, called “small Vietnamese Angkor” (if you know the Angkor Wat Temples in Cambodia!). It's a set of chams hindouists temples, registered to the world heritage of UNESCO since 1999. There remain only ruins. Very impressive. In the afternoon, we met people from minorities, in the highlands. They invited us to eat and drink. (một bia!) And to finish the day, nothing better than swimming in a waterfall…

What a rich day in adventures! Tomorrow, last day in Hội An. A tour of Danang is required, to admire paradisiac beaches and taste some good seafood (ngon cua!)… And of course to climb the steps of the Marble Mountain, (to have a great panorama of Danang city) and to greet Lady Buddha!

Thanks for reading.

Chào bạn bè !

Mr Flo – My Trip in Vietnam


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb