A very expensive cha-cha-cha in Hanoi


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
November 23rd 2010
Published: November 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Thank you for high end train travel in Vietnam. Our Victoria Express cabin was cleaner than the car on the way up, but more importantly there was noise but no banging so after a glass of wine and a sleeping pill, I slept well from 11 until 5 when the train arrived in Hanoi. We went back to our 3-star hotel with 5-star service and they gave us a room where we could shower and change. After a really early breakfast and some time reading, we headed out to the Vietnam History Museum. On the way we stopped for cash and then saw some people dancing near the lake. Since we had enjoyed dancing in Chengdu, I seized the opportunity to dance in Hanoi. The good news was it was great fun. After dancing with Jack, they put on a cha-cha-cha which was a flash from the past. As I was trying to remember the steps a women pulled me towards her for the dance. You can see from the picture how much fun I was having. The only negative was that at the end of the day, I realized I was $100 short. It was a great, but very expensive dance. Some things just happen like that. I bought a blanket in Bac Ha that I loved, only to have it turn everything it came in contact with purple so I had to leave it in Sapa. I had a great dance only I was pick-pocketed. I guess I have to separate the good and the bad and hold onto the good.

We ended up in the Vietnam Revolutionary History Museum by mistake. There were lots of photos of the impact of the American bombing, the brave Vietcong, and Uncle Ho. They also had the chain that Australian “workers” had used to shut government offices in support of the North along with a peace symbol on a lanyard and a coffee mug from the US. After we realized our mistake it didn’t take long to get bored. The History Museum was across the street and it was quite small and mostly dedicated prehistoric relics. Not knowing a lot about this early time period or its art, it was hard to appreciate what I was seeing.

We had several hours before our flight and were determined that we were not going to another museum or going shopping. Instead we went back to the Metropole Hotel and had a cappucinio and sat in lovely surroundings and read. I’m growing fonder and fonder of my Kindle. To the End of the Land by David Grossman as sucked me in and I identify with the heroine so strongly. There was one detail in the novel that her son insisted on dressing like a cowboy when he was 3 and the only other boy I know who did this is Joshua, call me John Wayne, Kadis. How weird is that?

Our flight was happily non-eventful although I wish I had had some of my banana friends along since the two snacks I bought were stale and had to be chucked. We were picked up in sunny, warm Hue by Chammy. She agreed to take us to the Citadel rather than simply dropping us at our hotel. We had a great hour tour which was really enhanced by the fact that since we were nearing closing there were very few people around. Chammy really knew her Emperors, the dates they ruled, the number of concubines they had (up to 500) and the number of kids (up to 143). He was a busy, busy man.

The Citadel was the site of 2 battles during the war. In 1968 as part of the Tet Offensive, the North Vietnamese held this walled city for 2 weeks. You can still see the bullet marks.

We had dinner at an amazing restaurant. Since the taxi drivers don’t speak English, you have the door man at the hotel tell them where to take you. We set off for Ancient Hue and after a couple miles, left the main road and headed off down dirt roads. At this point there is nothing you can do since you can’t communicate with the taxi driver. Jack was starting to get nervous when we pulled up at the restaurant which was spectacular. To one side they had 2 small antique homes showing how people lived hundreds of years ago. A very nice young women described them as representative of a home for the wealthy and a home for the poor, but I think what she meant was the wealthy and the middle class. The restaurant had been constructed in the style of a traditional building and was extremely ornate. What made it most special was the garnish for my meal. The dragon was 4”tall by 6” long. Jack had a shrimp that was much more modest. I asked to take the dragon so Jack could photograph it since I knew I could never describe it adequately.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Citadel in HueCitadel in Hue
Citadel in Hue

Modeled after the Forbidden City in Bejing
Main gatesMain gates
Main gates

Only the Emperor can pass through the center gate


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb