Halong Bay


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
May 16th 2010
Published: May 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I was waiting at 8am for the bus to take me to HaLong city, when I got on the bus I got talking to an Irish couple and knew straight away it would b3 a good trip. We board the boat Discovery-2 four hours after leaving Hanoi, after half an hour on the water we had lunch and continue to a set of caves designated UNESCO site. Later we dropped anchor where we all changed into swimming gear and started jumping off the top deck like lunatics. The kayaks we were promised showed up but there was only one paddle per kayak so we gave them a miss. After dinner things died down quickly so I asked about the karaoke that the travel agent mentioned. Before I knew I had a microphone in my hand and one of the Vietnamese crew had chosen Daddy cool for me to sing. After that the Irish guy sang total eclipse of the heart and before anyone else knew what hit them the two of us did Born to be wild. One of the English guys joined us for fortunate son and with that his mates were all up too. Seven of us belted out karaoke for hours joined every now and again by the crew singing Vietnamese songs. Both I and the Irish couple joined them for a few of these songs. I managed to get the Swiss girl I was sharing a room with and a Canadian guy to join us for a few songs and when we stopped karaoke we joined the other passengers on the top deck.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0905s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb