Who says they never crash?


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
September 9th 2009
Published: September 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Truck in a drainage ditchTruck in a drainage ditchTruck in a drainage ditch

These concrete ditches are on the side of evey main road
Ok, I have been bad about sitting down and typing the blog. Its my last night in Nha Trang and I need to sit down tonight and catch things up.

Quick sidenote though. I was waiting to post these pictures till I finished my Motorcycle trip. Several awesome accidents. I was never there at the same time the victims were. Which in a way I am glad. As a Paramedic I would have wanted to help but with what? I picture holding c-spine till the locals just grab the victim by the shoulders and legs and tossing them into the nearest vehicle. I am pretty sure that any concept of modern EMS does not exist here.

One of the accidents was on the way home to Hanoi and it appeared that one truck was passing another truck on a blind corner when a motor scooter must have came around and was hit dead on. I pretty sure it had to be a fatality due to the wreckage and the amount of blood on scene.

The way it works here is pretty simple. Trucks trump cars, cars trump motorcycles and motorcycles trump people. The bigger you are then the more right of way you have. Crazy, crazy.

Also on a last note I came as close to getting it myself as I ever have before. One bus was passing another bus and I was as far over as I could get. They do not have shoulders here they have these 3 foot concrete drainaige ditches. You go in one and your going to be hurt. The bus passed me at about 50mph and I had to duck the mirror as it passed over my head. Scared me to death. My guide actually rode up next to me and motioned that it was a close one.

The main roads are actually worse then anything else. On the back roads and in the city the speed is so much slower. Less big vehicles. I am glad we did very few main roads.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.455s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb