Ben Tre


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
February 27th 2009
Published: February 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The bus back from Nha Trang was a bit of a laugh. Overcrowded and everyone complaining. Catching the bus from Saigon to Ben Tre was hillarious.. Everyone stared at me when I got on the bus and sat down, and there were salesman all the way through the trip... one with a megafone, trying to sell imitation hugo boss shirts.

Have been really relaxed at Phuongs parents.. they greeted me with yet another feast. And really made me feel at home. Ive been helping myself to the fridge, and lying around in my underwear haha. Last night Phuong took me around Ben Tre central on a motor bike and its actually quite a big place.. not the small village I thought, is actually quite a large town. Still get the stares from everyone... besides seeing them on tv, Phuong rekins im prob the first white person theyve ever seen. Went to the super market last night and I found some kiwifruit, so walked right up and started feeling them and putting them in a bag.. and this couple next to me were staring at me like i was a leper.. i dont know if it was a look of shock or disgust haha. The man said to Phuong, is that your husband... Phuong said yes and they started to go about their shopping. Theres some big massive statues around the town centre. Phuong was telling me they tell the story of the american war.. she was saying alot of Americans died here, and the people of Ben Tre are proud of it.. They fought with everything, kitchen utensils, coconut shells - whatever they could find, and drove the Yanks out. Then we found a new flash cafe that opened up so we went and I got a mango shake, which was beautiful and only 9000vnd, which is about 70-80cents aus... i decided to get another one it was so nice.

After all my anxiety about using the squatting toilet, it wasnt that bad after all... i think i only took a half a crap tho as my legs were so sore from staying in the position i couldnt do anymore haha. Then Phuongs Dad and brother took the day off work, and we took a 2hr motor bike ride to another town (way more remote) to show me some Cambodian buddhist temples. They were pretty cool, and I was happy her Dad came because hes a strict Catholic, he didnt really look around tho just waited on the bikes for us. Saw some Buddhist monks who were all smiles and watched them feed some massive fish. Then we stopped in at some relatives house.. Was really cool! They all were really friendly and all say im handsome.. They put on a massive feed, and had a box of beer.. I think i insulted them a couple of times as I didnt want to keep drinking, after 2 now I get a bit to tidley. Ate chicken, fresh prawn spring rolls and ..... wait for it!!! .... Field Mice! They were really good! I ate about 4 of them. Phuong says there ok cause there not like city mice.. they live in the rice fields and also eat coconuts! they rekin there really big.. Tasted a bit like chicken. Then they fed me some exotic fruit .. god know what it was but tasted good. After lunch they kept trying to get me to go to sleep as thats what everyone does.. but i didnt want to .. So me and Phuong and her brother and cousin.. went outside and they got this fishing poll thing with a net on the end and we went and got some mangos.. were nice but still a bit sour. I spied a massive pig in the back yard I went and look at that was bigger than me and there were chickens running around everywhere.. The olds were still all sleeping so we decided to jump back on the motorbikes and went to check out this Catholic church.

While looking around the grounds a group of drunk guys kept yelling out at me and one spoke some english who came over and he said he was the priest of the place and wanted me to come drink with them.. So I went over for a bit.. and a couple more could speak a bit of english.. the others were waiting tho, so I said I had to go and then we went and got more food. Some women on the side of the road were cooking a big omelet thing we had.. beautiful but I wasnt that hungry.. some old women begger stood behind us the whole time wanting money.. been getting that a bit tho.. its cause im white.. they think im rich. Phuongs family tho have been awesome.. theyve been paying for everything.. gas for the bikes, boat fairs.. havent wanted any food.. they said I didnt have to get them gifts.. (which is the traditional thing to do when going to a girlfriends house) - (i did get them a cheap australia calander before i left) - they say they dont want anything from me not even for the wedding if I dont have it.. all they want is for me to pay my credit cards so me and Phuong can be happy together. Then went back to the relatives house. Everyone was awake again, and some more people were there for me to meet. One was one of the drunk guys at the church.. They made me go into the main room with just the men of the family and I had to sit and drink with them, Phuong could come but all the women accept the grandma had to wait outside.. and only the men could sit at the table.. I think Phuong was just there to interpret.. One real old man was there.. I think Phuongs great uncle.. I rekin he would have been in the war. One friend of one of the uncles turned up who was a bit rude to me.. And even tho we spoke other languages.. u know when someone is taking the piss.. everyone was a bit quiet and the uncle was trying to tell him to be quiet, but I gave him a bit of shit back and held my own quite well haha.

The uncle said next time I come back to their town If I want to stay there awhile, they will take me to the fields and I can go hunting for field mice with the men. I said I cant wait! On the way back, saw people flying about 500 or so kites.. Phuong told me every season once the rice has finished they fly kites to celebrate the end of season, it was a real cool site.. wish i got some photos of that but couldnt reach my camera..

My ass hurt on the way home... was glad to get off the bike! haha.. TOmorrow im off to meet more rellies.. Phuong asked if I wanted to go back to Saigon on sunday, but I said I wouldnt mind staying till Monday.. Quite enjoying the whole experience. Feel like im part of the family and can totally be myself. :o)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb