my holiday through the lens of my camera


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
August 9th 2008
Published: March 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


tomb of Tu Duc, Huetomb of Tu Duc, Huetomb of Tu Duc, Hue

It is said that Tu Duc lived a life of ultimate imperal luxury. ( 1848-1883) His remains were never actually interred here. the site where his remains were buried is not known. Because of the danger of grave robbers, extreme measures were taken to keep the location secret - every one of the 200 servants who buried the king was beheaded.
Xin Chao...

three months of working at LIGHT and SHAPC, did me dreaming of white beaches, palm trees and the wind in my hair on the scooter... I heart so many stories of beautiful places at the central part of Vietnam, that I decided to check it out myself.

only ten days, more than 2000 kilometers...

I made Hue and Hoi An as bases to explore the surroundings and shoot myself into the time with Professor Barabas' timemachine... I met wonderfull people on the way, Vietnamese but also foreigners ... I got touched my the beauty of the Vietnamese countryside, but also by the bloodcolored history... so many impressions, too much to write them all down and as an image expresses more than a thousand words... I am showing you "my Viet Nam" as I saw it through the lens of my camera...

Thanks to all the people that I met on my way through Vietnam, as there are Ione, Steve, Paul, Xavier, Thobias, John, Liana, Jenny, Jessica,Tuan, cook Phuong, Peter, Kasper, Joshua, dr.Van, Son, Ly, dr. Giang, Happy, the staff of Light, my colleagues at Shapc, Lan, Phuong, Cuong, Dragon Fly, Duong, Panchanan, the people of Volunteers for Peace ...and all the other that are skipping my mind for the moment

Meeting you and spending time with you, really made this adventure a success!

x




Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Citadel in HueCitadel in Hue
Citadel in Hue

one of the huge bronze vases at the court of the Hall of Mandarins, dating from the 17th century
citadel of Huecitadel of Hue
citadel of Hue

I got completely lost in the citadel. it's a beautiful and peacefull place!
the flagtower of the citadel, Huethe flagtower of the citadel, Hue
the flagtower of the citadel, Hue

the flagtower is 37 meter high and the highest in Vietnam.
some souvenirs from Vietnamese struggles some souvenirs from Vietnamese struggles
some souvenirs from Vietnamese struggles

never seen a tank from soooooo close... I was happy that spiders and other creatures found a home here... a sign of peace
military cemeterymilitary cemetery
military cemetery

Truong Son National Cemetery... many graves are empty cause soldiers got burried at the spot where they were killed. The cemetery is honoring more than 300 000 MIA's Each headstone beas the inscription "Liet Si" which means Martyr
young buddhist discipleyoung buddhist disciple
young buddhist disciple

at the school near the Thien Mu Pagoda, an icon in Vietnam
628628
628

I was witness in a two hour lasting class where the kids had to pray, sing and chant
the entrance of the tomb of Khai Dinhthe entrance of the tomb of Khai Dinh
the entrance of the tomb of Khai Dinh

This is my favorith tomb of all the royal enclosures near Hue. it took me an effort to get there by my rented motobike and no map...
Tomb of Khai DinhTomb of Khai Dinh
Tomb of Khai Dinh

the stone faces of mandarin honour guards at the Honour courtyard.
constructionwork in Vietnam is never safe!constructionwork in Vietnam is never safe!
constructionwork in Vietnam is never safe!

so a metaldetectior belongs to the basiclist


Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 16; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0823s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb