So it begins.


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast
December 17th 2009
Published: December 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sorry for the long time since I last wrote. I spent I few days longer in the mekong than I expected, and the day that I returned to Saigon I came down will a minor case of pnumonia!. I am much better now, after taking antibiotics and spending a horrible day in a Saigon hospital and seeing firsthand the brutal results of Saigon traffic accidents, including a man who had most of his face torn off, and a woman bleeding profusely from a wound to the temple. I wish the best to them and others!

Today I begin my wanderings, and leave the city behind. I did however, break my promise today and buy a map, because I needed
to choose a location outside of saigon to start my journey from. I pinpointed a little town to the northeast of Saigon called "Di An" and payed a friend of a friend to drive me there.

Now, around five hours later, I have found a large strand of fields on the edge of town that I will stop and rest for the night. Meanwhile I wait for the sun to go down, here in this internet cafe (which seem almost as plentyful in the country as in the city). I am having absolutely no trouble communicating with the locals in vietnamese here, but that could be because I am still fairly near saigon.

Tonight I look forward to sleeping under a huge starry sky, lonely in the knowledge that I am something very, very different.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb