Pictures and my next stop.


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
December 6th 2009
Published: December 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Christmas babyChristmas babyChristmas baby

Chrismas is a much loved holiday here in Vietnam. Even the lil' ones get in on it!
Here are the pictures I promised in my last post.

Today I met a university student here studying to become an english teacher. He took me to meet his classmates who where all very friendly and eager to practice english with me, and we all had a good time making friends. Later he invited me to come with him to visit his home in the Mekong Delta tomorrow! He said not to worry about money and that we can share the cost (he looks fairly well off himself). He promises to show me around the mekong and teach me about the local culture, maybe even go fishing. With that kind of invitation it would have been hard to turn him down, so of course I said yes. We will be there for three days and then return to Saigon. Afterwords, I will probably have to say goodbye to all of the friends that I have made here in Saigon, and head out (by foot) in a north-eastern direction. I will probably write one for entry here before I go which will explain the contents of my kit. But I don't have time tonight, since I need to prepare for the
Zero (me) and my youngest friends here.Zero (me) and my youngest friends here.Zero (me) and my youngest friends here.

This is the street cafe that I hang out at on most days. I had to duck in the picture because of the low tarp.
next 3 days. Until then!

--ZW


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

More of the brothers Hung and PhatMore of the brothers Hung and Phat
More of the brothers Hung and Phat

Sons of my good friend Hai.
Batuda DX cena!Batuda DX cena!
Batuda DX cena!

These kids love robot fighting shows. But I have never seen the one they kept refering to.
Hehee... Hehee...
Hehee...

I love much life was captured In this picture!
Worn out buildingsWorn out buildings
Worn out buildings

Looks like the second story of these buildings have slowly crumbled into disuse over the years.
Fresh produceFresh produce
Fresh produce

Markets such as these are a common sight in Asia. This one is on the next street over from my hotel.


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb