Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
February 3rd 2017
Published: February 3rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

So I wrote this really heartful blog about Saigon (Ho Chi Minh City). But I'm at airport and somewhere in middle I lost internet connection and I didn't notice. So I hit save and bam all gone.

So this version is less😞 or maybe good for you😊

The history of Vietnam is very emotionally draining. Partly because this war ended about 40 ish years ago (1975) and partly because the why we went is so vague. The nutshell is that the US went into what would have been a civil war between north and south Vietnam to stop the country from becoming Communist country. This was because President Truman feared this would result in neighboring Asian countries to become communist as well. And so began a 17 year war that had staggering numbers and a far reaching impact for Vietnam. They struggled for years with education and healthcare for their people. Also there is the impact on people who were impacted by Nepalm bombs that was in what was called Orange zone.

I was told Vietnamese people didn't like Americans. I never felt any hostility from any locals. But in Saigon there is definitely a sense of rushing around and disregard for people around you (not just American - European, Australian and their own Vietnamese.). It's same as how I feel when I'm in India. People cutting in line for no reason, cars going with no regard of pedestrians, pedestrians going with no regard to vehicles!

While I enjoyed my time in Vietnam and feel this country gave me a feeling of being more invested in what's going on in the world and in my own home country, I'm ready to move on 😊 partially because some of the things I saw were very depressing and partially because sometimes a girl likes to know a green walk sign means she can go without wondering if the scooter Is going to wait his turn 😊

Off to Cambodia next ( well in another hour) for 10 days then to Europe. I may be extended my Europe time but am just sorting out exactly where I'll be headed to know for sure what I'll be doing 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb