History of War


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
September 11th 2006
Published: September 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


The last few days in Ho-Chi-Minh-City have been very educational and emotional. After visiting both the War Remnants Museum Reunification and the Cu Chi Tunnels I feel that I have a better understanding of the struggles faced by all men who fought in the Vietnam Conflict.

The War Remnants Museum was filled with pictures and stories about what men and women faced on all sides of the conflict, and it was very moving to see the dedication that both the north and the south had for their cause.

The Cu Chi Tunnels are where the Viet Cong lived for 5 years underground after the napalm campaign killed on the trees and plants. In addition to climbing through the tunnels, we ate a traditional meal of tapioca root and nuts (yuck!), saw the various kinds of traps the Viet Cong used against the Americans and their allies, and had the opportunity to shoot riffles.

I figured this was a once in a lifetime experience so I purchased a clip of 5 bullets for $7.00 and attempted to shoot an AK 47. As you can see by the picture the attendant attempted to hold me up, but it was no use and now I have a bruise on my right shoulder from the kick back of the gun. In case you are wondering I missed the target by about 10 feet at the closest. Its official, Nick is still the marksman in the family.

The tunnels were quite an experience in themselves! They had been widened from "larger" tourists but they were still only 60cm wide by 80 cm high! You could choose to go either 30 m, 60 m, or 90 m. Needless to say, I REALLY wanted out after the first 30 m. The tunnels were pitch black and you had to almost crawl to get threw them. I was glad I did it and glad when it was over!

In addition to learning about the Vietnam conflict, Jess and I also wondered around the city, saw United Flight 93(as if we hadn't seen enough emotional things), and sampled some amazing local and not so local (MEXICAN!!!!) cuisine. Even eating becomes a learning experience...after attempting to eat rice noodles and failing miserably the owner of the restaurant came over and gave me a chop stick lesson. I was very appreciative and now I think I can eat the noodles!!!

Jess left for Singapore and then back to England today (Sept 11), so I am on my own again and off to the Mekong Delta for a few days and then into Cambodia for a whole new adventure!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0925s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb