war remanents museum and the awful markets


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
September 27th 2013
Published: July 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Exhausting day, we had a late start in preparation for the next 4 days which will all be early starts.

Taxi to the war museum, which was disturbing to say the least. Lot sand lots of questions from the kids, like lots of place we go it's a beginning for them in understanding the world is a bigger place than Aus. More discussions about war, the difference between WWII and the Vietnam war and then the current conflict in Afghanistan and ending discussing what is ahead for Syria.

After the museum we went to the huge tourist markets, fought with store holders - who called me crazy, another woman yelling at me because after I bargained her to my price I changed my mind. Eventually Kasey got a flat top hat, I got a cap and Cooper a GShock. Would never go back, it was really no fun at all. Will just buy other souvenirs from shops near the hotel. Did get a nice gift for Kate - there's a photo of me modeling it! much to the kids embarrassment.

Walked back to hotel after visiting our Banh Mi lady!



Rest before the big souths game.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement




Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0747s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb