Good Morning Vietnam!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
July 29th 2006
Published: August 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Saigon.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

MillionairesMillionaires
Millionaires

I'll take 2 million dong, a thank you. Kiwi, Dai and myself flash our vietnamese dong on our first night in Saigon. 1 USD = 16000 VND
Market MadnessMarket Madness
Market Madness

Ben Thanh Market in central Ho Chi Minh City. Whatever you needed you could find being sold by about 10 different vendors which made finding the right price easy.
Cyclos to ChinatownCyclos to Chinatown
Cyclos to Chinatown

Kiwi, Dai and myself all hopped on board cyclos and ventured down to Chinatown in District 3 of Ho Chi Minh for dinner. A Cyclo is a bike with a passenger seat in front, and as usual i'm in the lead.
Sleeping BeautySleeping Beauty
Sleeping Beauty

Dai has an increadible ability to fall asleep anywhere at anytime. Most often its at the pub or in a restaurant. I guess the crazy streets of Saigon wasn't even enough to keep him awake on our cyclo ride home after dinner
Strength in NumbersStrength in Numbers
Strength in Numbers

Since I left Thailand I have not really been alone for too much time. It seems as of late that we manage to pull healthy sized groups together for days at a time. Here Matt, Jenny, Charley, Catherine, Kiwi, Dai, and myself enjoy cold drinks over a few games of pool.
Chef ExtrordinareChef Extrordinare
Chef Extrordinare

This happy chap was our chef in Chinatown for dinner. He was set up right on the sidewalk and managed to prepare 5 different dishes for us in about 4 minutes, all with one wok. Did I also mention that the food was perhaps the best I've had since I left the USA.
KIWIKIWI
KIWI

What a happy camper....
AccomodationAccomodation
Accomodation

It doesn't look like much but this is where we stayed in Saigon. Two large beds, satellite TV, hot showers, and very clean.... all for three dollars each. What a bargain.
Ummmmm.... that way I thinkUmmmmm.... that way I think
Ummmmm.... that way I think

Every corner you turn you see the same thing, an ally just like this. Easy to get lost but always exciting to see what you'll find around the next bend.


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb