sweet tooth


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
July 31st 2003
Published: July 31st 2003
Edit Blog Post

Since arriving, my days have been rather uneventful. Eat, sleep, repeat. I don't think I've ever been this affected by jetlag before. Maybe it's my anti-malarial drugs that are making me delirious. Heck, don't blame the meds; I'm delirious nonetheles. Sometimes I tend to forget things, i.e. it didn't cross my mind that Vietnam was colonized by the French until I started eating french bread and pastries for every breakfast. Vietnamese-french pastries might just be the next best thing than straight from the source.

Normally I don't like doing the tourist thing, so it was a bit disappointing when I found out we were going to a backpacker's cafe to sign up for bus trips. M's house was not near the central tourist district, so it was a great place to interact with all the locals. In fact, most locals thought I was one of them. I know I am asian looking, but give me a break. I look like a giant compared to the girls (and even most guys).

Something to note - there is this local preference for dark, smoky bars with waitresses wearing bright and gawdy uniforms. Also to note - there are very few girls in the bars, making it a bit uncomfortable for me.

There's nothing more thrilling (and life-threatening) than hopping on a notorious Vietnamese motor-bike. Ever wanted your life to flash before your eyes? Ride on a bike, and you'll experience it. I'll describe it later in full detail.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0723s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb