Sand Dune To Sprawling City


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
October 13th 2010
Published: October 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I left DaLat and went to Mui Ne by bus. Mui Ne was a small town located right on the beach, basically a one road town. The hotels were located within a few feet of the ocean. All the sand was conveniently located a few miles from town, the main attraction being the sand dunes in the area. 35 people die a day on motor bikes, in Vietnam, so I decided to press my luck. We rented a bike and drove to the dunes. The first dunes we came up to were the red sand dunes, there you could rent a sled, more like a plastic sheet and slide down the dunes. The kids have some sort of cartel going on and are ruthless when renting out these sleds. They wanted to charge me $2.50, you should be able to get them for $1, but I quit caring and finally got it for $2. I am having foot problems to say the least and have to wear shoes now where ever I go, so it was less than comfortable sliding down the dunes and making my way back up. It was actually a lot of work to get back up, so my day out going down the dunes really only lasted a max 5 times. The white sand dunes where much bigger and there were no kids selling sleds there, well there was one, but you could just get them for free out on the dunes. My foot was hurting too badly now so I did not go down any of them, but the others did. These dunes where much bigger and seemed like everyone else was going much faster than I did.

When I left Mui Ne I went to HCMC. HCMC was even more hectic and crazy with motor bike traffic than Hanoi which is saying something. There were museums to go to in the city, much of the same really. Besides that not much to do. You could get a blind massage, but I chose not to partake. The people who went said it was not worth the $2 for the hour of work. The city itself was fine, I didn't stay in the city very long, there was no need.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb