Canyoning Down Waterfalls


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Central Highlands » Lam Dong » Da Lat
October 8th 2010
Published: October 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I left Hanoi and purchased a open bus ticket. The ticket allows me to travel to six cities in Vietnam and all I have to do is tell them one day in advance when I want to leave. The first couple stops were Hue, and Hoi An. Both towns were nice enough, Hue had a beach that I took a motorbike to, but can't remember much past that. Hoi An is the spot in Vietnam where everyone goes to get tailor made suits. I looked around for a winter coat, but once you added in shipping I'm not sure it was that great of a deal. Nha Trang the next place I went, can be summed up as a petty crime beach town. You walk down the street and hookers come up to you and grope you until your money is gone. If you do anything to stop it, men come out from the bushes to make sure the transaction goes down smoothly. When you tell anyone that you got robbed no one even cares or seems surprised. You are 100% guaranteed to know someone who gets robbed in Nha Trang. Thankfully I was not robbed for I had already given all my money to the hookers for services rendered, only kidding, just 4 of the 6 people in my group were robbed.

I came into DaLat very tired, hungry and it was raining. I really just wanted to turn around and leave. Thankfully I did not because DaLat was so much fun. DaLat itself was ok, we took a motorbike tour to some water falls, a coffee plantation, and rice wine factory. We saw how they made silk from silk worms. It was the second time on a motorbike here in Vietnam and I still did not like traveling in the traffic and this was on mountain bends. The motorbike tour was so good that we book a canyoning tour with the same company. We repelled down vertical face cliffs, raging waterfalls and trekked through the jungle. It was probably the best single day I've had on my travels.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb