River Boat to Phnom Penh


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
October 19th 2010
Published: November 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I was going to take the bus to Phnom Penh from HCMC, but at the last minute I decided to go on a slow river boat up the Mekong Delta River. The pictures at the tour agency sold the trip better than the actual experience of the trip. We saw floating markets, fish farms, coconut candy factory and a lot more interesting in theory locations that were rather mediocre. The one highlight of the trip was that I ate an egg with a chicken fetus inside. It is a delicacy in Vietnam, and one of the most rare dishes in the world, according to someone in the group that was daring enough to try it with me. It was surprisingly good, it kind of tasted like chicken soup.

Once finally in Phnom Penh I went to the Killing Fields and S21. The Killing Fields were true to their name, and it was just a large field. They've constructed a kind of memorial to the events in the middle of the field. It housed bones and clothes from the dead. The S21 prison was rather hard to see and I quickly walked through. In the city there was an interesting looking palace, but they wanted to charge $6 to enter, I chose not pay. Besides beer here only cost 60 cents for bottles bigger than back home, so I had to make some sacrifices to stay within budget for the day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb