Siem Reap to HCMC


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
May 13th 2010
Published: May 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So it was the 13th of the month and my 13th trip to an airport of 2010. The 13th... I think it really is unlucky number.

I ran a bit late and had to rush to write my post cards. Picked up my passport ok on the way to the airport. I had to ask the TukTuk driver to drop my post cards at the post office so who knows if he got them there. We arrived slightly later than planned but that was ok. As I was paying th TukTuk driver, i burned my right shin... Of course I didn't have lunch yet so I had lunch at the airport. I thought I was running late there too so I scarfed down my food as fast as I could only to find out that my flight was delayed about an hour.

my flight left about 40 minutes late. When I landed, I went to get a cab, no one would take me to the main area of the city for $5 that my uncle said to pay. The first guy wanted $25... no freaking way! I even got into a cab that a worker put me in and I confirmed the price to which the driver said no...he wanted $15... I quickly realized I'm not gonna get one for $5 easily so I said $8. Driver said no, so I got out of the taxi... there are planty my where that came from. As i fidgeted with my bag, he came over and offered to take me for $10... I agreed just to get going.

Got to the hotel and called my uncle. met up with him a few hours later and went to a Korean style restaurant and met 2 of his colleagues. had a few beers and soju with all of them. after dinner my uncle and I went to the Sheraton hotel bar at the top of the hotel and listened to live music. Of course it was fun that as we walked in, they were about to start playing Layla by Eric Clapton. That was fun too. I later talked to the band and they had just finished playing in Korea. So they offered to play a Korean song as a surprise for my uncle who had gone to smoke. They later played it and said hi to my uncle... he was amused as was I.

Then back to the hotel and to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb