Angkor Wat


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
May 12th 2010
Published: May 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Got up at 4:30am... damn it was early! I met up with Christy and Sylvie at 5am and we went to Phnom Bahkeng to see the sunrise. I think we were a little late technically for the actual sunrise over the horizon but you couldn't see it anyway. We saw the sun rise over the clouds. This temple is on top of a little mountain which took 20 minutes to climb up.

Next Bayon, with all the faces... was fairly big, lots of faces. Definite must see.

We then took a break for a traditional Cambodian breakfast called Bobao, a rice porridge with chicken quite delicious. I also drank 2 cups of coffee with condensed milk, mmmmm.

Ta Nei, very small very temple that was about a 10 minute walk. we were the only ones checking this temple out. I liked going there since there were no people there.

Ta Prohm, large temple. The most amazing fig and silk-cotton trees grow on the temple walls. The hug roots make their way to the ground sometimes more that 10 feet. It was probably one of my favorites.

Lunch was Cambodian Spicy Chicken soup with rice. It was good enough to eat, but not something I'd go in search for later. It was starting to get really hot and somehow I lost my $4 hat... annoying since I forgot my sunglasses at my room.

Last, return to Angkor Wat. It was really busy when we got there but we came in from the back entrance and checked out the outer wall. It has some amazing carvings with very fine detail. There is even an image of what looks like a Hindu god. We actually went up to the inner temple and got to check out the amazing views. I got some great shots.

The Temples were amazing. Definites, Angkor Wat, Bayon or Ta Prohm would be second and third. Don't miss these.

It was sweltering in the sun but not as bad in the shade. I think I drank 2.5 liters for water by lunch, I think i'm going to finish off about 3.5 liters of just water today, not including the soups I had for breakfast and lunch.

Got some hand drawn post cards at one of the temples and some from a little girl where we stop for a beverage and some from the post office. They are pretty cheap here compared to Korea.

When I got back I was sitting at the bar and had a drink. I met 2 other travelers from Swiss. They were headed out to see the sunset at Phnom Bahkeng, apparently that is the better sunset and the sunrise is better at Angkor wat. Oh well... I'll know if I ever come back.

I also met the owner of Two Dragon. He is very friendly and was more than happy to chat with me. He and his Thai wife have 2 children and live there 8-9 months out of the year. But I guess they are planning to move to the states soon because of their children. I complimented him on his place and we chatted about how his reviews on travelfish, (he has one bad one). When I read it I said, are they really talking about this place? He also gave me the ins and outs of traveling around southeast Asia to and from Siem Reap.

Did some laundry then out to eat with Christy and Sylvie. We ate some traditional style Cambodian food again near the Old Market, which is actually pretty new since it was rebuilt. I bought a Silk scarf from Baton Bong, Cambodia for my mom.

Time to finish laundry, write post cards and ready for bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb