Nam ahoy


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
April 27th 2008
Published: April 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Saigon at about 1.30pm, after leaving at 6 this morning, after getting in at 2!! Seriously memorable last evening though, it rained really heavily and we had to run through the rain with water higher than our ankles TO the restaurant, and arrived soaking wet, THEN when we left the restaurant, the water was upto our knees in some places! I was greatful the worst I saw floating in it, apart from all the plastic bags and rubbish, was a cockroach...had a great time clubbing though!

So yeah, I'm in Vietnam, it feels really strange, and more different to Cambodia than I imagined. I havent got round the currency yet - 16000 dong to a dollar - try working out a price in your head from that, say, if someone asks for 80000 dong, near enough impossible for a beginner I reckon!!

I went on a small cyclo tour earlier, had a look round the war remenants museum (about the most depressing thing you can do in Saigon Im guessing), lit some incense at the pagoda, and accidentally joined a service at the Notre Dame Cathedral, which I had to appologetically leave half way through because time was adding up on my cyclo drivers clock...plus, I couldnt understand a word the priest was saying, and was one of possibly 4 westerners present. OOps!

Met a girl and her auntie from the Phillipenes, they took me to the night market, where I had to stop myself buying anything when everything on every stall was so nice! They're treating me to a massage tomorrow evening, should be interesting...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 7; ; mem: 1.1mb