Out and About today


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
July 29th 2016
Published: July 29th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Not sure what happened - but my blog for today was 900+ words - and somehow it's has "disappeared" I thought it was in "saved" status - waiting for me to "publish" - but alas I cannot find it. So now I will do a shortened version - sad because the original blog was informative - if I do say so myself.

A little late to the beach this morning - so had it to myself except for 2 locals and the "regular" fisherman. The sea was warm again, and a slight swell - probably from the passing fishing boats (again). Only saw a couple of jellyfish - so I am sure it has something to do with the temperature of the water and the current. About 40 minutes of swimming, aerobics and then I make my way back to to homestay. Breakfast, shower, chat on FB with KLY then time to check the e-mails. A little bit of "housework" to do - then I decide to head to An Bang beach (about 3kms away). Enroute I pass a restaurant owned by a friend. He is an ex South Vietnam Army soldier and during the war took a couple of bullets from a Viet Cong rifle. He was stationed in the region where I was based during the war. - so when he foun d out I was in that area - we became instant friends. He is not in love with the former "north" and even has a problem with some of the local people who were previously "northerners". He motioned me to come in to share some lunch with him; rice, some grilled sardines and onions and some other boiled fish. Not knowing I would be eating this early - I thought I had better take some insulin. As no-one else was in the restaurant - I decided to do it at the table. I use the Dario system, which plugs in to my mobile phone's headset socket and has a neat program that records BSL and also records the amount of insulin taken, time etcetc. My friend was amazed by my little pre-lunch antics - and wanted me to prick his finger for some blood. But because I did not have any spare lancets I thought it best not to use my "used" one on him. We speak a little while in broken English and broken Vietnamese and enjoy the lunch. Shortly after finishing, some tourists came in to the restaurant - so that was a chance for me to continue my journey. As it happens - the visitors were "Mexicans" - so a quick chat about their travels from Melbourne to Vietnam, Turns out it is their 4th visit to Vietnam and they really like it. They are on a package that gave them 2 nights in Saigon, and then 6 nights at a 5-star resort at nearby Cua Dai Beach.

As it happens - my task for the day was to visit Nam Hai Resort a 5-star property about 5 kms on the road toward Danang. Some client/friends have purchased a similar package as the aforementioned "Mexicans", and I told them I would visit the Nam Hai and suss it out for them. At the main gate to property I was halted by a security guard who wanted to know the nature of my visit? Was I a current guest? Did I have a reservation?? What was I doing there?. After flashing a business card and a quick chat to someone at reception - I was instructed to park my bike in the staff parking area (hidden from guest view) and make my way about 300m through neatly manicured gardens to the guest arrival/check-in area. My description had been sent forward so a hotel staff member was waiting for me at the guest arrival centre. Quick intro and and I was informed that as the resort was full - I could not be show any of the accommodations - but I could be shown the restaurants, 3 pools, and beach area (the resort has it's own private beach frontage 1km long!!). An amazing and very large resort. 100 villas of which 60 are 1-bedroom and the other 40 a mixture of 2-3-4-5 bedroom villas. Each villa on the property has it's own swimming pool. My friends will enjoy this property!!!

After the little walk around - I make my way back to the staff vehicle park - then toward the entry/exit. I am stopped by the same security guard - who checked my bike rego plate - probably to make sure I wasn't leaving with a better bike that I came with!!!! After the OK to leave - I make my way back toward An Bang beach - and the road toward Hoi An town. I stop at one of my favourite restaurants for a club sandwich and chips and a couple of cold beers. Then it's back to the homestay for a cool shower and a well-earned rest. At 6.30pm I go across the road to friends restaurant - have a meal of cau lau (noodles, sliced pork, bean sprouts and broth with a side-dish of some leaf greens. And all washed down with 2 beers. It's been a big day - so I come back to the room for another shower andto write my daily blog.

The original blog for today was 950+ words, but this re-write is just over 900 - so not sure what I have left out. Maybe just some "colour". I'll take my night shot of insulin and crawl under the sheets and watch a bit of TV. The cable package here has quite a few movie channels, sports, National Geographic, Discovery and more - so a good selection of English-speaking channels to flip through. I'll get some sleep tho - as I have a date with the next-door rooster at around 06:00am!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0768s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb