Get that website finished


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
July 28th 2016
Published: July 29th 2016
Edit Blog Post

GOOD MORNING VIETNAM!!!

The rooster in the yard next door did his job and woke me around 06:00am. It's already in the mid 20's - so it's hard to get motivated to get ready for the beach. A quick call to KLY - then it's into the "routine". I arrive at the beach - and except for a couple of guests from one of the resorts and the local fisherman - I have the beach to myself. I notice only a couple of jellyfish this morning - so nothing to worry about. I do think I might have touched a tentacle yesterday because my left foot had a slight swelling. I did not feel a "sting" but am sure I brushed against a couple of the creatures, Anyhow - a little freestyle, some breaststroking, backstroking, water aerobics - and it's time to head back to the homestay. Breakfast was tea, iced coffee, the bread and fried eggs and the fruit plate. In to the room, shower, chat with KLY again, then checking e-mails, looking at some travel stuff for friends - then back to the website buidling. No - I am not that smart with the computer. The website is made using one of the many free DIY website builders - but many small business owners do not have laptops/desktops - so they have no means or even the inclination to try to build a DIY website or even make a Trip Advisor account for their business. This is my 4th one - and so far I get some good trade-offs for doing them. Free massages, pedicures, manicures, hamburgers and beer. Everyone is happy. They might be DIY in a "few minutes" website-building-programmes - but it depends on how much content you want to include. This latest one was a challenge because I was doing the menu in both English and Vietnamese. Very time-consuming. I get it 95% done. I just need some better images of food, and to have the Vietnamese part spell-checked. If you have ever read (or tried to read) Vietnamese - you notice that in almost every word there are letters with various inflection marks like '~^'( and more tha my keyboard does not have). Putting the wrong one of these over a letter can mean telling someone the food here is shit or they are ordering fish salad with duck gizzards!!! My friend Minh with proof-read my efforts and make sure the Vietnamese part of the menu is correct.

I finally leave my room about 7:15pm and go to the restaurant. I try something from the "English" menu. I take crispy prawns, then fish and chips. The prawns were great as were the chips. The fish was not the battered type as per the photo they have on the menu. I suspect the menu is a standard template used all through Vietnam - and restaurant owners just add their restaurant name, location. phone number, menu offerings/prices to it and then get it printed. Many of the menus are wall-sized and done on vinyl. It's amazing how many restaurants you go into and see the same menu/images adorning the wall - and then the smaller ones on the table with the prices on it. Anyhow - hard to detrmine how the fish was cooked. Definitely not like battered fish we would get from the local "chippy". It was more of a breaded-type batter - which made it rather doughy/claggy. Wasn't the most enjoyable, but edible. I will have to see how it was cooked - then perhaps make a suggestion or two. After the meal it was time to go back to the room, another show, another chat with KLY, and in between the sheets.

GOOD NIGHT VIETNAM!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0804s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb