Hoi An - let's relax a little


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
July 26th 2016
Published: July 27th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Now - time to settle down and get into a "routine". But first I have to check out a few hotels for some colleagues from Kingscliff who will visit Hoi An in August. Ironically - they will arrive on 21 Aug - same day as Kathie and I arrive here with family after we have done the Long Tan commemoration tour. The colleagues have seen some hotels on the internet and asked me for my opinion/recommendation. As it happens - I did not know any of the 3 properties - so the day was spent visiting them and doing "site inspections" - so I could make a recommendation. I duly returned to my homestay and reported back to said colleagues. I then spent a little time helping one of the homestay workers practice her English. Coincidentally she is friend Minh's cousin - and she is studying tourism at a college in Danang - but meanwhile doing some "hand son" experience at the homestay. I help her with some pronunciation. The evening spent having a meal at Minh's place - trying his Mother's stir fried sweet and sour chicken - hoping it's not too sweet. I did take my 6 units of insulin before going over. MY glucose level was at a nice level (5.9) - so the aforementioned meal should be OK. A nice cold beer while waiting for the meal. Just relaxing. The meal arrived, and I proceeded to enjoy. The all of a sudden a plate appears with some deep-fried springs rolls. Oohh this could be dangerous. Hey - I was low - and I already had my "shot" - so I might be OK. Another beer shouldn't be a problem. A little chit chat after the meal - then back to room. I thought I would test to see what affect the meal had. Holy Moley!!!!!!!!!!!! My BSL (blood sugar level) - was 14.1!!!!!!!!! WTF!!!!! Out came the insulin and in went the insulin. How much sugar was in the sweet and sour??? Maybe it was the little spring rolls?? Wow - I need to be careful with Thanh's home cooking. I find myself in bed at 9.30 - watching a little TV and wondering how I will feel in the morning. 14.1.....sheez!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb