Hoi An - the saga of the rental bike


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
July 25th 2016
Published: July 27th 2016
Edit Blog Post

6.30am wake-up and down to the beach by bicycle. Lots of "xin chau"'s along the way. I am a little late this morning - so I have the beach to myself except for the fisherman and the hotel guys setting up the beach chairs and safety flags. A little swimming, a little water aerobics - then head back to the homestay. For breakfast I try the noodles and veggies just to see what that does to my sugar level. I ask for only a little condensed milk in the coffee. But there's quite a bit of sugar in the fruit - pineapple, watermelon, banana and pear. But the insulin shot should take care of that.

Off to the ATM and bank to get money for house rent deposit and for the motorbike (moto) deposit. You have to plan finances here - especially if using your bank card as there a low limited on daily withdrawals. I couldn't get enough via the ATM so had to cash some US $100 bills. I visit Mrs Ha and duly pay her the 3million VND. I notice the fuel gauge is on empty - but looks like there is enough to get to the petrol station. A few minutes later I have filled the tank ($3 is all it took as the fuel tanks are small on this Yamaha). I then return to the homestay to decide what the day's activities will entail. I go to Minh's house to see if he is working. He works at 2 hotels and up to 16 hours per day to get money to help his family live. (more on this family later). Minh hears my voice and appears from his bedroom. He advises me that he has a great idea. I had previously looked at a motorbike for sale by the local area policeman - but at 6million VND - I thought it was too much. Minh's idea is that if I put up 3million (the same as I was going to pay for 75 days bike rental) - he would put up the other 3millionVND - and this way "we" would own a bike together. I can use it whenever I am in Vietnam - and when I am not here he can offer it as a rental bike to foreigners. What a great idea. Except I informed him I had just come from giving Mrs Ha 3million VND for the rental bike. After a little back and forth - I said I would go back to Mrs Ha and see if I could get my money back. I plucked up the courage to do this - and off I went. Mrs Ha appeared from her office - thinking that maybe there was a problem. I informed her that I had the chance to buy a motorbike for 4 millionVND (a little white lie) - and that it was a better deal than the 3 million I had just paid her for the rental. All of a sudden -she says I can buy the rental bike for 5millionVND. I say I can only afford 4. I tell her I will give her $15 for her troubles - as well as a full tank of petrol - and I will recommend her to all my Aussie friends. She agrees to this!!!! I thank her with a big hug and kiss on the hand. This is normally not done in Vietnam. Not their culture. But she is happy. I head back to Minh's (on foot as I have now given back the motorbike). I tell him to call the policeman and say we will buy the bike). Within a matter of 20 minutes - the policeman has arrived, we have checked out the bike and asked for a couple of obvious repairs and handed over the 6miliionVND. Minh gives all his salary from the 2 jobs to his Mother - so he had to "borrow" 3million from her. We now own a bike that I use for free whenever I am in Vietnam - and he gets to rent it out when I am not here. I guess at some stage we might sell the bike and split the money. Everyone is happy. I take the "new" bike to the petrol station to fill it up (it too was almost empty). Then I go back to homestay to relax a little. What a week!!!!!! Can't wait to tell Kathie what wheeling and dealing has taken place. I end the day by going to one of my favourite restaurants near the old town and having a splurge - fresh spring rolls (4), 2 cold beers then spaghetti carbonara. Total price?? AU$7.40. What a day this has been!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb