Vietnam - I have arrived


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Da Nang
July 18th 2013
Published: July 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Long day of travelling starting at 5.00am, and arriving at Hoi An at 8.00pm (11.00pm Australian time). First time ever I walked into the airport and went straight through the check in, no queue and no waiting. Great way to start the trip.

I arrived at Ho Chi Minh airport and it was really strange, firstly being somewhere completely new and secondly being on my own. I did a Robyn though, for those of you who don't know Robyn she is quite happy talking to strangers anywhere - supermarket queues, restaurants where ever, and so I made a few friends in the queues for customs and for booking the next flight. Who ever said travelling on your own was boring!!!

Clarkee is a great travelling companion, no whinging and even made me buy chocolate at the airport!!

After arriving at Ho Chi Minh I have half an hour to make it from the international terminal to the domestic. Once I collected my luggage I walked out the door, following people who I hoped knew where they were going. Outside there was a trolley with some Vietnam Airlines staff who took my bag away and said no problems they would put it on the plane. I really thought that that would be the last time I saw my bag, but when I arrived at Da Nang there was my bag!

After an uneventful flight to Da Nang I landed and was greeted by Toong who had been sent by the hotel to pick me up. Once again great service and no dramas!! The drive to Hoi An was a bit different - they drive on the wrong side of the road, in fact they drive whereever they like, in the middle on the left on the right, three abreast. So after a hair raising trip we arrived at the hotel.

As I was checking in Robyn and Pete came and found me and after throwing my bags in the room we went to the obligatory welcome cocktail and spring rolls in the small bar across the road. The hotel is amazing and I have a wonderful room much too large for one person, with a balcony overlooking the river.

I was pretty exhausted after a long day travelling but also excited to arrive in a new country and meet up with the other two musketeers!! Having a short stay in Hoi An, but looking forward to doing some exploring tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb