Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos with a side of Thailand please


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
April 25th 2015
Published: April 25th 2015
Edit Blog Post


2 weeks. 4 countries. And a whole lot of Hell Yeah!!




My faithful back pack leans against the front door, my passport has just enough pages left to handle this trip, and my folding toothbrush ready for whatever delicacies I might feats on lays patiently next to a packet of Tums. (I hear the street food in Cambodia can be a little rebellious).



I am ready for the whirlwind in front of me (I think). Not so ready for the long flight back in Economy class but this time I think I am better prepared. I've got a tiny foot stool (did you know they made such things??) so I can actually reach something solid with my feet while in flight. I stumbled upon some homeopathic jet lag pills and the new neck "J "pillow which I plan to soon become close friends. It is kind a cool, not only does it support your head left and right side, but it also has a padded part the rests gently under your chin to avoid the head bob and weave; supposedly. There was no time to test run it. Who knows maybe I will actually get some Zzzzz on a long haul flight for once. BONUS!! ( I don't usually endose products when I travel but I'll tell you what if these things do half of what they say they do, then I am telling everyone! )

Time is of the essence on this trip and exhausted or not I plan on making the most of it!!!



First Stop... Hanoi Vietnam

1. Vietnam is the largest exporter of cashews in the world, and the second largest exporter of rice.

2. Traditional culture of Vietnam involves focusing on humanity (nhân nghia) and harmony (hòa), with family and the community valued highly.

3. Instead of bells, traditional gongs are used to call the Vietnamese children to school.

4. The cuisine of Vietnam traditionally combines 5 fundamental taste elements including: spicy (metal), sour (wood), bitter (fire), salty (water) and sweet (earth).

3. Among all developing countries, Vietnam has one of the lowest unemployment rates.

4. You can find a B52 American Bomber Wreck in Vietnam’s West Lake.

5. Ruou ran (snake wine), a Vietnamese specialty of rice wine with a pickled snake inside, allegedly can cure any sickness.

7. The Vietnamese keep potbelly pigs as pets. I'd bring one home but an elephantmis still on the top of the list



Speaking of exhausted I've still got a to do before I leave and I got get some rest before my flight.

Till tomorrow..

Advertisement



Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.062s; cc: 16; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb