across the border to Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
June 20th 2011
Published: July 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

After spending my last few rather sad days in China, catching up with a friend in Nanning, I began the journey to Vietnam. The boarder is a little crazy- once you've passed immigration on the China side you have to walk for a bit to reach the Vietnam side, and with all you luggage and in the sweltering heat you push and shove your way to the counter and practically throw your passport to officals to organise. I was amazed I still received my passport in one piece!

The scenery on the way is just breathtaking though- the land is so fertile so you see a lot of diversity in both flora and fauna. Once arriving in Hanoi I went straight to my guesthouse where I was greeted by some of the most lovely and hospitable people I've ever meet running a guesthouse. They told me my mum was waiting for me upstairs.

It was so nice to finally feel like I was on holiday and it was even better that I got to share the whole experience with my mum. 😊

We did a lot of the touristy things, we walked around, shopped, went to museums, ate ice- cream and relaxed. It was perfectly lovely.

Despite Halong Bay being practically a bus stop for hords of tourists, the experience was amazing. We travelled with Fantasea cruises and we were really impressed with their services and thought it was great value for money. The food was nice, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the activities were safe and fun.

I especially enjoyed the kayaking- I made a promise to myself that I should do more things like that when I return to Auz.

I've just landed in Thailand, and it feels more or less the same it did in Vietnam, people are a little less friendly though I think, perhaps because they're just so used to tourists here. But I'm sure my journey here will be lovely and relaxing too, just what I need after a long and tiresome journey across China.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb