The power of a sandwich


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
April 3rd 2006
Published: April 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Vietnam has really not been treating me very well. Maybe I just hadn't realized how great I had it in Thailand and Laos (I knew I had it pretty good mind you) cause Vietnam has certainly been a struggle. It's particularly frustrating because I kind of like it and am considering extending my time here a little.

I went north to Sapa for two days. The train ride up was okay except for getting in at 5am. The area around Sapa certainly did not disappoint with an incredable view (I took sooooo many pictures) but the town itself was not the serene escape I had hoped for. I knew it was busier on the weekends but I thought it would be interesting to see the villagers that come into town for the markets from all around the area. I was wrong. Sort of. It was interesting but also incredably annoying. It's been a long time since I've been around such aggresive sales people (actually worse than thailand) plus half of them are kids and they're all poor tribespeople selling the exact same things. Not being able to walk five steps without hearing "you buy this, okay?" really started to get to me. I did do a nice little walk to a village and a motorbike ride to get some excellent pictures but I was most definitely ready to leave after two days.

The train back to Hanoi was less successful as the three guy in my car would not shut up and one of them also did this horrible coughing/snorting thing all night. Plus again with the 5am arrival. But getting into Hanoi was a lot rougher than getting into Lao Cai (by Sapa). Everyone gets attacked by the motorbikes (local taxis). I finally got one and have to get on with all of my luggage... try staying on a motorbike with a 15kg backpack on. Then the guy decided not to drop me off where I asked but after much yelling a couple of blocks further down.

The, the hotel where I had been staying and where I booked my Halong Bay tour and myopen Bus ticket for when I go south, decided that since I was leaving tomorrow night with a bus ticket I'd already paid for, they weren't really going to get any more money from me and so decided not to give me a room. So... don't stay at Youth Hotel (or little hanoi hotel, their affiliated).

So at 5:30am I found myself wandering around Hanoi with all of my things getting hounded by motorbike drivers (if I hear "Hello, Motorbike?" again I might punch someone). One guy actually tried to help me and showed me where I had gotten myself to on my map. It's pretty hard to accept help here when almost everyone is trying to relieve you of your money in one way or another.

It took two hours until I stumbled across the Holiday Hotel... I'm pretty sure it's brand new (still finishing up some details) and I paid more than I have anywhere else but not more than some of the places I'd already seen that morning. And the room is amazing. and quiet.
So after a shower and a nap I gathered myself to brave the streets of Hanoi again (now that they've lot their charm). I took care of a few things and then decided to treat myself to a nice lunch. Following a Lonely Planet recommendation I found myself eating a chicken, avocado, cheese and veggie sandwich on fresh baked french bread. Mmmmmmmmm... I sat there an hour reading my book and sipping tea.

Since then I've made me way around the lake and sat around people-watching and taking pictures. I've bought another bag so I don't break my back carrying everything strapped on to my backpack.
Now I'm going to try to spoil myself with some pizza for dinner.
Today was my day off from travelling... I just hung out withmy book and let the budget slip for meals. but not completely or i'd be spending 200,000 dong on sushi fo dinner. sigh....

Advertisement



4th April 2006

Hanoi hassles
Thank you for your helpful notes on the motorbike drivers and on the hotel that treated you badly. I plan to go (with two relatives) to Hanoi this summer (2006) and am taking notes in advance (4/06) b-p@consultant.com
6th April 2006

sorry vietnam's treating you so rough....well, things can only go up? and if not, there curative powers of sushi far outweigh those of a sandwich.

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb