Monsoon in Hannoi


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
August 22nd 2009
Published: August 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

About 4am this morning some amazing lightning and the loudest thunder I have ever heard. The rain came done so hard and fast, I dont think I had seen it rain like that before. It rained like that for about an hour but then tapered off to just a very slow drizzle. When I started out this morning I went with umbrella in hand but like I had been told by a friend before coming over, I really did not mind getting a little wet. No real change in the heat just a bit more humid. Probablly about 325% humidity now.

My first stop was Ho Chi Min's Mauseleum. Its definitly something Vietnam is proud off. Military everywhere and you have to go through security. No camera's allowed, so those are confiscated then returned after.

You walk about 1/8 mile outside in front of a very large granite tomb, which is modeled after Lenin's in Russia. When you go in you walk up steps and into a large room containing his body. The walkway moves around the body and you have about 1 min to look at him from all angles. There is no stopping just a steady walking. The whole way you are surrounded by military men in dress whites. His body looks amazing. Whatever process they used to keep him fresh is working.

After that went to his old palace and museum. The museum was interesting as there is a lot of stuff about the war. Americans are definitly protrayed as the bad guys which as an American we are raised to believe we are the good guys. Very good lesson in that there is very rarely any true correct sides in any conflict and there is always 2 perspectives from any war.

More interesting and fun than the stuff displayed in the museum was the tons of school kids that for some reason I still dont know thought I was the best thing since sliced bread. Because I am white, because I am tall, I have no idea but they followed me all over and all had to say hello and shake my hand.

Even some families came up and asked if it would be ok for them to take my picture with members of their families. I took my picture with an older man about 5 feet tall and classic asian beared. very stoic but was excited to take my picture. I would bet money he was fighting with China or North Vietnam during the war but was excited to be with an American. Very cool.

Afterwards, I felt brave enough to take a ride on a scooter from one of the millions of scooter venders trying to give me a ride. NOT FOR THE SQUEEMISH! I thought trying to cross the street was scary. Being on the back of the scooter flying through traffic constangly experiencing near misses and sudden braking to avoid small children was an experience. These people should all just enter the X games as their riding ability as a nation would be competitve in any contest.

Oh and by the way yesterday I said there were no stop lights in Hanoi. I have to correct. I found some sections of town where there are lights. and there are pedestrian intersections there. Those are even more fun as when the pedestrian light turns green and you walk out in front of the stopped traffic. As you are walking across looking at the thousands of scooters and taxis barely containing themselves you begin to walk just a bit faster just wondering what would happen if the light turns green while you are halfway across. I just cant imagine it would be a pretty sight so I made sure I walked across in a timely manner!

I went to the Water puppet show today. Its a art from from almost a 1000 years or more ago when the peasants would put on puppet shows during the flood season in the rice paddies. It had live Vietnamese muscicians playing instruments I have never seen before and singers who would to the dialogue and the singing.

The puppets were very basic but beautiful at the same time. was fascinating to see how they would make the puppets appear from the water and float along the top. Many stories where protrayed but even without not understanding the language you could follow along with some. Some even were funny. All in all a great show. Plan ahead though. To get the seats up near the front you must buy your tickets day or days in advance. I really enjoyed the experience.

Much walking around for the rest of the day. I finally started to notice that each street stall sells something specific. So if you live here and need something specific you have to go to a stall that sells that. And you name it there is a stall for everything. I even saw a stall that sold nothing but disposible diapers. Whats an eye opener though is that almost every stall is not just a store. As I was walking through at dinnertime whole families are on the floor eating dinner in their stores. And I saw beds behind the merchandise where they sleep. Wow. These people live and work their whole life in the one stall. Its a different life for sure.

Off to Halong Bay today. 3 days and 2 nights. looking forward to it. Will report in after that I would assume.

Signing of till then

Dave





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



22nd September 2009

David and Goliath
Dave you look like Goliath next to that man. No wonder you have so many fans. I wonder also how you get along over there without knowing the language and not many knowing english. Stand tall, brother!

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb