Last Day


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
February 19th 2006
Published: February 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone

Well we have come to our last day in Vietnam. We leave here tomorrow morning around 8 and arrive home Tuesday lunch time. What an amazing 3 weeks - many stories to tell! Since Paul last wrote we have spent two days in Halong Bay. You can see the pictures of the bay which are stunning, but do little justice to the actual experience of being there. Amazing boat ride. We left Hanoi on Thursday morning and bused it to Halong City where we boarded the boat, the trip included an overnight stay on the boat and words can't describe waking up to that view. Unfortunately Paul became sick that day and is still recovering - he has had a bad couple of days of vomiting and the likes. We think it may have been some seafood he ate. For that reason the last couple of days have been a bit slow - Paul has been in bed whilst I have been out wandering the streets and buying more handbags and scarves. I think it may be a toss up between Paul's shirts and my bags to who has the most. We moved hotels yesterday and this was good given how bad Paul has been feeling as we are ending our trip in luxury - bit obscene really - not quite used to sitting on a warm toilet seat that washes and drys you - what the hell! Slow day today - I will probably take a walk around the lake while Paul snoozes in bed - lets hope hes feeling better for the flight home tomorrow! It will be good to get home but sad to leave here also - I had just fully mastered how to cross a busy intersection with hundreds of bikes coming towards you. Actually the other day I hesitated once in the intersection - never a good move- and nearly collided with a bike - the woman was most unimpressed! I will need to remind myself at home that you don't just walk out into the middle of the traffic. There are rumours of a scooter once we get home. I would like to see dad on one, along with what else he could fit on - here is nothing to see tv's, cupboards, gas bottles being carried on a scooter. I don't think I will miss the beeping horns - although Paul wants to get a new one for the car - a musical one - that should go down well in Strath! Well I had better go and see how Paul is doing - love to you all! By the way if Julie is reading this - I thought I would let her know of an article I was reading in the Vietnam news over breakfast - it was a story about the changing traditions in Vietnam. In it it talked about the head daughter-in-law of the family (the wife of the oldest son) and the way in which she takes care of the whole family - I have kept a copy of it for you as I know you will be interested - maybe some changes to be made! xo


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



22nd February 2006

Halong Bay
My husband and I are heading to Vietnam next week. I'm curious about which Halong Bay tour group you used. Enjoy your last few days in Vietnam.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb