Holiday in Vietnam - Days 6, 7 & 8


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
January 26th 2006
Published: January 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lenin statue.Lenin statue.Lenin statue.

Obligatory picture of me with some statue of Communist propaganda.
Hello everyone, sorry for the delay in updating the journal but Vietnam doesn't offer a great deal in internet services!!! Anyway, I have been in Hanoi for 3 nights and have to say that I have thoroughly enjoyed myself. Met a really nice couple from Sydney. They managed to drag me kicking & screaming for beers for the last 3 nights!!! Let me tell you that the beer here is soooo cheap, you can buy 100 glasses for $10. This has obviously resulted in a lot of late nights and not so early mornings. I did manage to see some sights on the first day, visited Ho Chi Minh's mausoleum. The guy was so small, no wonder the Yanks couldn't get him. Also, visited the many street markets Hanoi has to offer. You can virtually buy anything, and for peanuts. However, I have been restrained and only spent my money on beers. As I have no room to carry anything else!!!

Unfortunately, the spending of money on beers resulted in a very heavy night. I didn't manage to return to the hotel till 5:50 AM, without phone!!! Before you all ask, don't know it could have been stolen but I
Brooke & Neil.Brooke & Neil.Brooke & Neil.

A picture of the friends from OZ which I met in Hanoi.
could also have lost it!!! Therefore, my second day in Hanoi was pretty short as I did not surface from my room until gone 14:00!!! However, did catch up with Neil & Brooke (Couple from Sydney) and saw a few more sites and went for very enjoyable meal 😊

The final day in Hanoi was very early & shortlived, as I had to be at the airport for 06:00 AM to catch my flight to Bangkok. Hoping to meet up with Steve, Emma, Rich & Ris in Bangkok so will make an update on my arrival. Until then take care & I'll be in touch soon.





Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Vietnamese Train controller.Vietnamese Train controller.
Vietnamese Train controller.

The most dangerous job in Vietnam, if the motorcycles don't hit him the train will!


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb