Hanoi


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
December 27th 2008
Published: December 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I think I spoke prematurely about understanding the Asian driver. Hanoi is the exception to every rule I've experienced in Asia. Traffic here is more than insane, and I have seen accidents. No one obeys street lights, no one waits for one another or pedestrians. It's a battle to get across the street without getting hit by motorbikes. They even drive on the sidewalk. Also, the people in Hanoi are the least friendly people I've ever met. I'd even go so far to say that they're rude. It's like it's a chore for them to get me the cup of tea I ordered, and they don't appreciate it when you try to speak to them in Vietnamese. They just look at you like you're stupid. Needless to say, I don't really like the city. It's big, and it's dirtier than Bangkok (if that's at all possible). At first it kind of reminded me of Montreal, because of the large French influence. Lots of cafes, narrow side streets, some of the architecture.... but that's where the comparison stops.

Christmas Day didn't start off so well. I slept in and I had to find an internet cafe open at 7am so I could Skype with my family. The night before, there was a large celebration because the Vietnam soccer team beat Thailand, 2-1. Everyone was in the street, parties were thrown. Vietnamese people aren't big drinkers, so everyone was hung over the next day. No one was up yet and I was locked into my guesthouse! There was a padlock on the door and I couldn't get out. Suddenly, a young Vietnamese guy stumbled out from wherever he was sleeping and started vomiting into a drain on the floor. Wonderful. Luckily someone opened the door for me and I left, finding internet and was able to talk to the fam! I did a tour of the city on Christmas Day. I met 4 Aussies that I had Christmas dinner with. We had Vietnamese food at a restaurant by the lake, but it just wasn't the same. I did a day trip to Halong Bay on Dec 26. Halong Bay is beautiful, but the skies were very overcast and it was cold, so it wasn't much fun.

I'm looking forward to going to Laos. It's definitely time for me to leave Vietnam. It's happened with every country... you really love it for a while, and then one day you're over it and it's time to move on. I definitely feel that way. I've been really patient, understanding, and accepting of all the cultures and people I've met so far. Being patient is the hardest thing for me to do. But I feel like I'm starting to lose my temper, which isn't good, so I'm glad I'll be going to Laos tomorrow. I'm flying to Vientiane because I'm not taking the 24 hour bus. Sometimes it's worth it to pay a little more and not have to go through the hassle of traveling cheap!

I'm definitely feeling like I'll be ready to come home after Laos. The last few days have been hard... I've had to convince myself to stay and keep going every morning I wake up and every night I go to bed. I promised myself I'd go to the 4 countries, and I'm so close to the end I can't give up now!

I should get going though. I have a few errands to run before dinner time. I hope everyone had a very Merry Christmas, (or whatever holiday you celebrate), filled with family, food, laughter and love!

Much love ~K xo

Advertisement



27th December 2008

:)
i can't wait to have you back in canada, lady!! it sounds like you're having a grueling, intense, amazing kinda time and hearing about it makes me miss you!! enjoy laos and fill me in on your new year's plans once you make them....or more likely after the fact.... xoxo
27th December 2008

Awww, locked in your room? That SUCKS! And the puking in the drain probably didn't help at all. I'm glad that you've been able to find patience while you're there though. I'm impressed! You can make it, and I know you won't regret it. xo
27th December 2008

Oh Kate keep at it, it probably won't be as hard when you are in a place you like better<3<3<3

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb